Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller

Sebastian Stiller
Universitätsplatz 2

Um eine virtuelle Sprechstunde zu vereinbaren, freue ich mich auf eine E-Mail von Ihnen.

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller
Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller

News (Selection)

The 7 Greatest Adventures in Mathematics: Navier-Stokes Equations

How does water flow over a rapids? How does air flow around a car body? Is it possible to compute this? Is there a basic mathematical model for this, just as there are Newton's laws for the motion of solid bodies? A basic model of fluid mechanics are the Navier--Stokes equations. They are more complicated than Newton's laws and for complex applications one has to approximate them or resort to experiments (e.g. in a wind tunnel).

Student workshop in cooperation with the IFAS

This Monday, a student workshop in cooperation with the IFAS (Institut für Flugantriebe und Strömungsmaschinen) took place on the Automotive Research Centre Niedersachsen. We welcomed 25 students aged from 10 to 16 years.

SQUIRREL - Retreat in Bilm

In the past week, ten employees of the Institute for Mathematical Optimization as well as the Institute of Analysis and Algebra got together for a retreat in a conference hotel in Bilm near Hanover.

Participation in Current Research Projects

HyNEAT - Hydrogen Supply Networks' Evolution for Air Transport

PIs: Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller (TU Braunschweig), Dr. Imke Joormann
Researcher: Rebecca Marx (TU Braunschweig), N.N.
Partners: Leibniz Universität Hannover (Institut für Festkörperphysik, Institut für Elektrische Energiesysteme, Institut für Umweltökonomik und Welthandel), TU Braunschweig (Institut für Automobilwirtschaft und Industrielle Produktion, Junior Research Group „Overall System Evaluation“), Institut für Luft- und Kältetechnik Dresden, Institut für Solarenergieforschung Hameln
Fund…

Entwicklung einer Toolbox für Quantenalgorithmen: ProvideQ

ProvideQ: Quantum Readiness for Optimization Providers

PIs: Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller (TU Braunschweig), Prof. Dr. Timo de Wolff (TU Braunschweig), Prof. Dr. Sándor Fekete (TU Braunschweig), Prof. Dr. Ina Schäfer (Karlsruher Institut für Technologie), Prof. Dr. David Gross (Universität zu Köln), Prof. Dr. Tobias Osborne (Leibniz Universität Hannover)
Researchers: u.a. Sabrina Ammann (TU Braunschweig), Janin Heuer (TU Braunschweig)
Industry Partners: 4flow AG, GAMS Software GmbH
Funding:

Mathematik für Innovationen: LeoPlan

LeoPlan: Lernen und Optimierung mit großen Datenmengen auf Netzwerken

PIs: Prof. Dr. S. Stiller, Prof. Dr. C. Kirches (TU Braunschweig), Prof. Dr. P. Mutzel (Uni Bonn)
Researchers: Dr. A. Tillmann, T. Niemann (TU Braunschweig), L. Schürmann (Uni Bonn), C. Hansknecht (TU Braunschweig), F. Bürgel (TU Braunschweig)
Industry Partners: Logiball GmbH, BASF Schwarzheide GmbH, 4flow AG
Funding: German Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF)
Duration: 2020 – 2023

Current Teaching

Lecture: Algorithms and Complexity for Quantum Computers (Summer 2023)

The lecture "Algorithms and Complexity for Quantum Computers" is for Bachelor's and Master's students of programs in Data Science, Mathematics as well as Mathematics in Finance and Industry (credit points: 5, credit hours: 2+2). The course will be held in the summer term 2023 by Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller in English language.

Lecture: Optimization in Machine Learning and Data Science (Summer 2023)

The lecture "Optimization in Machine Learning and Data Science" is for Master's students of programs in Data Science, Mathematics as well as Mathematics in Finance and Industry (credit points: 5, credit hours: 2+2). The course will be held in the summer term 2023 by Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller in English language.

Lecture: Ramp up Course Mathematics (Summer 2023)

The lecture "Ramp up Course Mathematics" is for Master's students of program in Data Science (credit points: 10, credit hours: 4+2). The course will be held in the summer term 2023 by Prof. Dr. Christian Kirches, Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller, and others in English language.

Seminar: Bachelor/Master Seminar Optimization (Summer 2023)

The courses "Bachelor Seminar Optimization" and "Master Seminar Optimization" on the topic of mathematical optimization (discrete and/or continuous) are for students of the programs in Data Science, Mathematics as well as Mathematics in Finance and Industry (credit points: 8, credit hours: 4).The courses are offered in the summer term 2023 by Prof. Dr. Christian Kirches, Prof. Dr. Maximilian Merkert, and Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller. Presentations can be held in English or German language.

Upper Seminar: Mathematical Optimization (Summer 2023)

The upper seminar "Mathematical Optimization" is leaded by Prof. Dr. Christian Kirches, Prof. Dr. Maximilian Merkert and Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller.

Lecture: Linear and Combinatorial Optimization (Winter 2022/23)

The course "Linear and Combinatorial Optimization" is for Bachelor's students of programs in Mathematics as well as Mathematics in Finance and Industry (credit points: 10, credit hours: 4+2). The course will be held in the winter term 2022/23 by Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller and Eva Ley in German language.

Lecture: Computeroriented Mathematics 1 (Winter 2022/23)

The course "Computeroriented Mathematics 1" is for Bachelor's students of programs in Mathematics as well as Mathematics in Finance and Industry (credit points: 4, credit hours: 2+1). The course will be held in the winter term 2022/23 by Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller and Sabrina Ammann in German language.

Lecture: Algorithmic Game Theory (Winter 2022/23)

The course "Algorithmic Game Theory" is for Master's students of programs in Mathematics as well as Mathematics in Finance and Industry (credit points: 5, credit hours: 2+1). The course will be held in the winter term 2022/23 by Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller in German language.

Lecture: Ramp up Course Mathematics (Winter 2022/23)

The lecture "Ramp up Course Mathematics" is for Master's students of program in Data Science (credit points: 10, credit hours: 4+2). The course will be held in the winter term 2022/23 by Prof. Dr. Christian Kirches, Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller, and others in English language.

Seminar: Bachelor/Master Seminar Optimization (Winter 2022/23)

The courses "Bachelor Seminar Optimization" and "Master Seminar Optimization" on the topic of mathematical optimization (discrete and/or continuous) are for students of programs in Data Science, Mathematics as well as Mathematics in Finance and Industry (credit points: 8, credit hours: 4). The courses are offered in the winter term 2022/23 by Prof. Dr. Christian Kirches, Prof. Dr. Maximilian Merkert, and Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller. Presentations can be held in English or German language.

Publications

Powered by bibtool and bibtex_js.

If the publications are not displayed, please reload this website with Ctrl + F5 or view the single publication page.

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller

Sebastian Stiller
Universitätsplatz 2

Um eine virtuelle Sprechstunde zu vereinbaren, freue ich mich auf eine E-Mail von Ihnen.

Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller
Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller

News (Auswahl)

Die 7 größten Abenteuer der Mathematik: Navier-Stokes-Gleichungen

Wie fließt Wasser über eine Stromschnelle? Wie strömt die Luft um eine Karosserie? Kann man das berechnen? Gibt es dafür ein mathematisches Grundmodell, so wie es die Newton'schen Gesetze für die Bewegung von festen Körpern gibt? Ein Grundmodell der Strömungsmechanik sind die Navier-Stokes-Gleichungen. Sie sind komplizierter als die Newton'schen Gesetze und für komplexe Anwendungen muss man sie annähern oder auf Experimente (z. B. im Windkanal) zurückgreifen.

Schüler:innen-Workshop in Kooperation mit dem IFAS

In Kooperation mit dem IFAS (Institut für Flugantriebe und Strömungsmaschinen) hat am heutigen Montag ein Schüler:innen-Workshop am Niedersächsischen Forschungszentrum für Fahrzeugtechnik stattgefunden. Insgesamt nahmen 25 Schülerinnen und Schüler im Alter von 10 bis 16 Jahren teil.

SQUIRREL - Retreat in Bilm

In der vergangenen Woche trafen sich zehn Mitarbeitende des Instituts für Mathematische Optimierung sowie des Instituts für Analysis und Algebra zu einem fachlichen Retreat in einem Tagungshotel in Bilm bei Hannover.

Mitwirkung an aktuellen Forschungsprojekten

HyNEAT - Hydrogen Supply Networks' Evolution for Air Transport

PIs: Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller (TU Braunschweig), Dr. Imke Joormann
Researcher: Rebecca Marx (TU Braunschweig), N.N.
Partners: Leibniz Universität Hannover (Institut für Festkörperphysik, Institut für Elektrische Energiesysteme, Institut für Umweltökonomik und Welthandel), TU Braunschweig (Institut für Automobilwirtschaft und Industrielle Produktion, Junior Research Group „Overall System Evaluation“), Institut für Luft- und Kältetechnik Dresden, Institut für Solarenergieforschung Hameln
Fund…

Entwicklung einer Toolbox für Quantenalgorithmen: ProvideQ

ProvideQ: Quantum Readiness for Optimization Providers

PIs: Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller (TU Braunschweig), Prof. Dr. Timo de Wolff (TU Braunschweig), Prof. Dr. Sándor Fekete (TU Braunschweig), Prof. Dr. Ina Schäfer (Karlsruher Institut für Technologie), Prof. Dr. David Gross (Universität zu Köln), Prof. Dr. Tobias Osborne (Leibniz Universität Hannover)
Researchers: u.a. Sabrina Ammann (TU Braunschweig), Janin Heuer (TU Braunschweig)
Industry Partners: 4flow AG, GAMS Software GmbH
Funding:

Mathematik für Innovationen: LeoPlan

LeoPlan: Lernen und Optimierung mit großen Datenmengen auf Netzwerken

PIs: Prof. Dr. S. Stiller, Prof. Dr. C. Kirches (TU Braunschweig), Prof. Dr. P. Mutzel (Uni Bonn)
Researchers: Dr. A. Tillmann, T. Niemann (TU Braunschweig), L. Schürmann (Uni Bonn), C. Hansknecht (TU Braunschweig), F. Bürgel (TU Braunschweig)
Industry Partners: Logiball GmbH, BASF Schwarzheide GmbH, 4flow AG
Funding: German Ministry for Education and Research (BMBF)
Duration: 2020 – 2023

Aktuelle Lehre

Vorlesung: Optimierung in Maschinellem Lernen und Datenanalyse 1 (Sommer 2023)

Die Vorlesung "Optimierung in Maschinellem Lernen und Datenanalyse 1" richtet sich an Master-Studierende der Studiengänge Data Science, Mathematik sowie Finanz- und Wirtschaftsmathematik (Leistungspunkte: 5, Semesterwochenstunden: 2+2). Die Veranstaltung wird im Sommer 2023 von Herrn Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller in englischer Sprache angeboten.

Vorlesung: Algorithmen und Komplexität für Quantencomputer (Sommer 2023)

Die Vorlesung "Algorithmen und Komplexität für Quantencomputer" richtet sich an Bachelor- und Master-Studierende der Studiengänge Data Science, Mathematik sowie Finanz- und Wirtschaftsmathematik (Leistungspunkte: 5, Semesterwochenstunden: 2+2). Die Veranstaltung wird im Sommer 2023 von Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller in englischer Sprache angeboten.

Vorlesung: Ramp up Kurs Mathematik (Sommer 2023)

Die Vorlesung "Ramp up Kurs Mathematik" richtet sich an Master-Studierende des Studiengangs Data Science (Leistungspunkte: 10, Semesterwochenstunden: 4+2). Die Veranstaltung wird im Sommer 2023 von Prof. Dr. Christian Kirches, Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller und weiteren in englischer Sprache angeboten.

Seminar: Bachelor/Master-Seminar Optimierung (Sommer 2023)

Die Seminare "Bachelor-Seminar Optimierung" und "Master-Seminar Optimierung" zum Thema Mathematische Optimierung (diskret und/oder kontinuierlich) richten sich an Studierende der Studiengänge Data Science, Mathematik sowie der Finanz- und Wirtschaftsmathematik (LPs: 8, SWS: 4). Die Veranstaltungen werden im Sommer 2023 von Prof. Dr. Christian Kirches, Prof. Dr. Maximilian Merkert und Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller angeboten. Vorträge können in englischer oder deutscher Sprache gehalten werden.

Oberseminar: Mathematische Optimierung (Sommer 2023)

Das Oberseminar "Mathematische Optimierung" findet unter der Leitung von Prof. Dr. Christian Kirches, Prof. Dr. Maximilian Merkert und Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller statt.

Vorlesung: Lineare und Kombinatorische Optimierung (Winter 2022/23)

Die Veranstaltung "Lineare und Kombinatorische Optimierung" richtet sich an Bachelor-Studierende der Studiengänge Mathematik sowie Finanz- und Wirtschaftsmathematik (Leistungspunkte: 10, Semesterwochenstunden: 4+2). Die Veranstaltung wird im Winter 2022/23 von Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller und Eva Ley in deutscher Sprache angeboten.

Vorlesung: Computerorientierte Mathematik 1 (Winter 2022/23)

Die Veranstaltung "Computerorientierte Mathematik 1" richtet sich an Bachelor-Studierende der Studiengänge Mathematik sowie Finanz- und Wirtschaftsmathematik (Leistungspunkte: 4, Semesterwochenstunden: 2+1). Die Veranstaltung wird im Winter 2022/23 von Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller und Sabrina Ammann in deutscher Sprache angeboten.

Vorlesung: Algorithmische Spieltheorie (Winter 2022/23)

Die Veranstaltung "Algorithmische Spieltheorie" richtet sich an Master-Studierende der Studiengänge Mathematik sowie Finanz- und Wirtschaftsmathematik (Leistungspunkte: 5, Semesterwochenstunden: 2+1). Die Veranstaltung wird im Winter 2022/23 von Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller in deutscher Sprache angeboten.

Vorlesung: Ramp up Course Mathematics (Winter 2022/23)

Die Vorlesung "Ramp up Course Mathematics" richtet sich an Master-Studierende des Studiengangs Data Science (Leistungspunkte: 10, Semesterwochenstunden: 4+2). Die Veranstaltung wird im Winter 2022/23 von Prof. Dr. Christian Kirches, Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller und weiteren in englischer Sprache angeboten.

Seminar: Bachelor/Master-Seminar Optimierung (Winter 2022/23)

Die Seminare "Bachelor-Seminar Optimierung" und "Master-Seminar Optimierung" zum Thema Mathematische Optimierung (diskret und/oder kontinuierlich) richten sich an Studierende der Studiengänge Data Science, Mathematik sowie der Finanz- und Wirtschaftsmathematik (LPs: 8, SWS: 4). Die Veranstaltungen werden im Winter 2022/23 von Prof. Dr. Christian Kirches, Prof. Dr. Maximilian Merkert und Prof. Dr. Sebastian Stiller angeboten. Vorträge können in englischer oder deutscher Sprache gehalten werden.

Publikationen

Powered by bibtool and bibtex_js.

If the publications are not displayed, please reload this website with Ctrl + F5 or view the single publication page.