Prof. Dr. Christian Kirches

Prof. Dr. Christian Kirches
Univ.-Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Christian Kirches
Universitätsplatz 2, Room 602

Hours: by appointment  
pgp key: download here 
Skype: christian.kirches

Research Statement

I take interest in optimization of nonlinear dynamic processes with switches and under uncertainty. In developing methods for this problem class, I contribute to nonlinear optimization, to (mixed-integer) optimal control, and to robust optimization.

My research is supported by an ERC Consolidator Grant (2023-28).

erc logo

Bio Statement

Christian obtained a diploma (in 2007), a doctorate (in 2010), and Habilitation (in 2018) in mathematics from Heidelberg University. In 2011-12, Christian was a resident associate at Argonne National Laboratory (IL, USA) and a postdoctoral appointee at the Computation Institute of The University of Chicago. From 2013 to 2017, Christian led a junior research group on optimization of uncertain systems at Heidelberg University. Christian held interim professorships for numerical mathematics in Heidelberg and for mathematical optimization at Braunschweig. In 2017, Christian assumed the chair of mathematical optimization at Braunschweig. He was awarded a Klaus-Tschira prize (2011) for publicly understandable science in mathematics and a Hengstberger prize (2014) for junior scientists of Heidelberg University.

Christian is an elected member of the COIN-OR initiative. He serves as associate editor for OR Spectrum and as area coordinator for Optimization Online.

An up-to-date CV is available upon request.

Research Projects

VW-Stiftung zukunft.niedersachsen (2024-26)
ERC Consolidator Grant 101087662 SCARCE (2023-28)
DFG SPP 2364 (2022-25)


BMBF Industriemathematik LEOPLAN (2020-23) 
DFG SPP 1962 (2019-22) 
BMBF KMU-innovativ VEOTOP (2018-21) 
BMBF KMU-innovativ ODINE (2018-21) 
BMBF Industriemathematik MOReNet (2017-20) 
BMBF Industriemathematik MoPhaPro (2016-19)
DFG SPP 1962 (2016-19)
BMBF Industriemathematik GOSSIP (2013-16) 
EU FP7 KoroiBot (2013-16) 
EU FP7 EMBOCON (2010-13)


Powered by bibtool and bibtex_js.

If the publications are not displayed, please reload this website with Ctrl + F5 or view the single publication page.

Theses (first/second)

Dominik H. Cebulla, 2023
Dr. Felix M. Bestehorn, 2022
Dr. Johannes L. Herold, 2021 (second)
Dr. Lisa C. Hegerhorst-Schultchen, 2020 (second)
Dr. Manuel Kudruss, 2020 (second)
Prof. Dr. Paul Manns, 2019 (now TU Dortmund)
Dr. Enrique Eduardo Guerrero Merino, 2018 
Dr. Lilli Frison, née Bergner, 2018  
Prof. Dr. Felix Lenders, 2018 (now TH Mittelhessen)

Theses (refereed)

Dr. Torben Fischer, 2021 (referee)
Dr. Clemens Zeile, 2021 (referee)
Dr. Alberto De Marchi, 2021 (referee)
Dr. Daniel Rose, 2018 (referee) 
Frederik Magnusson, Ph.D., 2016 (referee)