Tenure Track

[Translate to English:]

The tenure-track professorship is a career path for young scientists on their way to a lifetime professorship. The TU Braunschweig thus offers excellent young researchers an attractive and reliable perspective at an early stage of their career.


The prerequisite for this is positive evaluations within the framework of a six-year probationary phase on a temporary professorship. The quality-assured procedure is based on transparent evaluation criteria along previously agreed performance characteristics.

The further development and expansion of the tenure-track professorship in the personnel structure of the TU Braunschweig continues the cultural change in the promotion of young scientists. Junior professorships with the "Tenure Track" option were already introduced at the TU Braunschweig in 2002. With the adoption of the new regulations to ensure a tenured professorship, the career path at the TU Braunschweig has been expanded throughout the university and structures, procedures and quality standards have been further developed.

 

Prof. Dr. Peter Hecker

Vice President for Research and Early Career Scientists

Research Service and European Office
Bernt Erlewein

Head of Division 1 Human Resources, Legal Services and Student Services

Tenure Track

Walzwerk im Institut für Werkstoffe

Die Tenure-Track-Professur ist ein Karrierepfad für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs auf dem Weg zu einer Lebenszeitprofessur. Die TU Braunschweig bietet damit exzellenten Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen und Nachwuchswissenschaftlern bereits in einer frühen Karrierephase eine attraktive und verlässliche Perspektive.

Vorausgesetzt werden positive Evaluationen im Rahmen einer in der Regel sechsjährigen Bewährungsphase auf einer befristeten Professur. Das qualitätsgesicherte Verfahren beruht auf transparenten Evaluationskriterien entlang zuvor vereinbarter Leistungsmerkmale.

Die Weiterentwicklung und der Ausbau der Tenure-Track-Professur in der Personalstruktur der TU Braunschweig setzt den Kulturwandel bei der Förderung des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs fort. Bereits im Jahr 2002 wurden an der TU Braunschweig Juniorprofessuren mit der Option „Tenure-Track“ eingeführt. Mit der Verabschiedung der neuen Ordnung zur Gewährung einer Professur auf Lebenszeit im Tenure-Track-Verfahren (Tenure-Track-Ordnung) wurde der Karriereweg an der TU Braunschweig hochschulweit ausgebaut sowie Strukturen, Verfahren und Qualitätsstandards weiterentwickelt.

Prof. Dr. Peter Hecker

Vizepräsident für Forschung und Wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs
 

Forschungsservice und EU-Hochschulbüro
Bernt Erlewein

Leiter Geschäftsbereich 1 Personal, Recht und Studium