Projects

On this page we would like to introduce you to the fields of work of the Waste and Resource Management Department and give you the opportunity to get an overview of our projects.

Completed projects

  • Expert opinion (2018): On the fluctuating conductivities observed since 1991 in the control drainages under the PIV to PVI polders of the Rondeshagen SAD. Society for the Disposal of Hazardous Waste, Kiel.
  • DBU (2015-2018): Development of innovative and interactive multimedia training modules as part of the know-how transfer for the implementation of sustainable waste management in differently developed countries. DBU.
  • Conducting boreholes in the slag landfill to determine the value content and evaluate the long-term behavior of the deposited slag (2015-2017): "TÖNSLM: Development of innovative processes for the recovery of selected resources from municipal waste and slag landfills. TP2: Economic evaluation, biological and wet processing." BMBF joint project. In cooperation with Main-Taunus Recycling GmbH, Flörsheim -Wicker and CDM Smith, Albach. 

  • IKI (2012-2017): Climate-friendly technologies and capacity development for the implementation of the national waste policy in Brazil. Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, Eschborn.

  • Phosphate recovery from landfills and old deposits (2012-2016): Institute for Urban Water Management, TU Braunschweig; Institute for Automotive Economics and Industrial Production, TU Braunschweig; Institute for Processing, Landfill Technology and Geomechanics, Chair for Raw Material Processing and Recycling, TU Clausthal; Institute for Energy and Environmental Research, Heidelberg. LANUV NRW.

  • Digestion and Composting Plants (2015): 4-week training of operational staff & laboratory staff & management of the Digestion and Composting Plants Ljubljana (SVN). STRABAG (AT). 

  • MBT (2014-2015): Construction supervision of two MBT plants with sorting, digestion and composting stages. In cooperation with a local engineering company. ENOB (BR).

  • Compost Regulation & Quality Assurance (2014-2015): Development of a compost regulation - compost, digestate and digestate compost; development of a method for quality assurance of compost and digestate. GIZ-Eschborn. 

  • Digestion as a building block of sustainable waste management for Brazilian municipalities (2014-2015): planning and implementation of three conferences (Jundiaí and Florianopolis). Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

  • Waste management concept (2014-2015): Revision of the waste management concept of the city of Braunschweig. ALBA Braunschweig GmbH.

  • MBA (2013-2015): Capacity Building and Basic Research for the Development and Commissioning of a Mechanical-Biological Treatment Plant with Integrated Digestion Stage for the Municipality of Jundiaí, SP (Brazil). German Academic Exchange Service.

  • Greenhouse gas emissions from MBT landfills (2013-2015): Global warming potentials / mechanisms / strategies. Institute of Geoecology, TU Braunschweig Institute for Agricultural Climate Research (vTI). Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

  • r³ - strategic metals (2012-2015): Cooperation project: TÖNSLM - Development of innovative technologies and strategies for the recovery of selected resources from household waste and household slag landfills. TP2: Economic evaluation, biological and wet-technical treatment. Institute for Urban Water Management, TU Braunschweig. Institute of Automotive Economics and Industrial Production, TU Braunschweig. Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

  • Subterrestrial wastewater shaft biofilters (2009-2015): Development project on subterrestrial wastewater shaft biofilters on the grounds of Deutsche Messe AG in the area of Hall 2. Deutsche Messe AG, Hannover.

  • Compostability of espresso capsules (2012-2014): The applicability of espresso capsules made from biodegradable plastics in home composting. Ethical Coffee Company, (CH).

  • Training of staff (2014): Training of staff of the licensing authority SETESB (State of São Paulo). GIZ-Eschborn.

  • Deposition of waste from MBT (2006-2014): Studies on the construction and operation of the debris fields for the deposition of waste from mechanical-biological waste treatment at the Blankenhagen landfill of the Northeim district.

  • Design, cost analysis and preparation of tender documents (2013): Design, cost analysis and preparation of tender documents for 3 anaerobic digestion plants in Mexico City (3,000 t/a each). Merik Group, MC.

  • Increasing energy efficiency in the utilization of biogenic residues (2011-2013): Data collection on the fermentation of biogenic residues, evaluation of the development potential for increasing energy efficiency and energy yield. Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety.

  • Waste treatment & recycling (2011-2013): N2O greenhouse emissions from waste treatment and recycling. Institute of Geoecology, TU Braunschweig. Institute for Agricultural Climate Research (vTI); supported by the Zukunftsfond of the TU Braunschweig.

  • Optimization of biological wastewater treatment plants (2011-2013): Optimization of biological wastewater treatment plants through data acquisition, process automation and peak load management. GVoA Minden; WAGO Kontakttechnik GmbH & Co. KG. 

  • Sorting & Digestion Plants (2011-2013): Basic engineering for four sites for sorting and digestion plants in the São Paulo area. ENOB, BR.

  • Landfills (since 2012): Long-term monitoring of settlement and mass transport in the base sealing of the Blockland Landfill Bremen.

  • Digestion (2012): Evaluation of offers for R&D projects in the field of digestion for the Agencia Nacional de Energia Electrica (ANEEL), Brasilia. GIZ-Eschborn.

  • Algae (2010-2012): Use of fermentation feedstock for sustainable algae cultivation. GVoA Minden.

  • Anaerobic digestion in rivers (2009-2012): Improving the application of anaerobic digestion in the Mekong River, Vietnam. Vietnam Government and Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

  • Energy efficiency of treatment facilities for organic residues (2009-2012): A multi-stage approach to increasing the energy efficiency of organic residue treatment plants. BMU.

  • Intermediate aerobic hydrolysis (2009-2012): Intermediate aerobic hydrolysis: a new way to improve biogas yield? The intermediate aerobic hydrolysis for enhancing the generation of biogas. DBU, Osnabrück. UBA.

  • Performance of MBT (2008-2012): Performance of the MBT Gaobeidian with integrated anaerobic stage (PR-China) for energy recovery and climate protection under different recovery and treatment approaches - IKI project. AWN, Buchen and Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development.

  • Composting & Digestion Plants (since 2011): Preparation of various risk analyses for the construction and operation of composting and digestion plants. Caixa Economica, Brasilia (BR).

  • Test areas for MBT disposal (2008-2010): Construction and monitoring of test fields for MBT disposal. Landkreis Northeim, Abfallzweckverband Süd-Ost-Niedersachsen.

  • Mechanical-biological waste treatment (2008-2009): Mechanical-biological treatment of municipal waste in Villa Alemana (Chile). GIZ Frankfurt and Faber Ambra, Alzey.

  • Mechanical-biological residual waste treatment (2004-2009): Pilot project for mechanical-biological residual waste treatment and landfilling including leachate treatment and remediation of contaminated sites in Novo Hamburgo, Br, Federal Ministry of Education and Research.

  • Rehabilitation of waste management in Bagh, Pakistan (2007-2008): Reconstruction of the Bagh waste management system (Pakistan). People in Need (Prague, CR) et al; EU Commission Program: EU ASIA PROECO II.

  • MBA (2006-2008): Scientific technical support of the MBA Südniedersachsen. Waste management association Südniedersachsen. 

  • Minimization of methan emissions from landfills in China (2006-2007): Development of Carbon Trade Project "Biological Waste Treatment" for Gaobeidian CDM-Methods. Development project in Gaobeidian (PR China). AWN Umwelt GmbH, Buchen. KfW Banking group, Frankfurt. Partners: Pyöry Environment and Greenstream Networks.

Projekte

Auf dieser Seite möchten wir Ihnen die Arbeitsgebiete der Abteilung Abfall- und Ressourcenwirtschaft vorstellen und Ihnen die Möglichkeit geben, sich einen Überblick über unsere Projekte zu verschaffen. 

Abgeschlossene Projekte

  • Guterachterliche Stellungnahme (2018): Zu den seit 1991 beobachteten schwankenden Leitfähigkeiten in den Kontrolldrainagen unter den Poldern
    PIV bis PVI der SAD Rondeshagen. Gesellschaft zur Beseitigung von Sonderabfällen, Kiel.

  • DBU (2015-2018): Entwicklung innovativer und interaktiver multimedialer Trainingsmodule als Teil des Know-How-Transfers für die Implementierung einer nachhaltigen Abfallwirtschaft in unterschiedlich entwickelten Ländern. DBU.
  • Durchführung von Bohrungen in der Schlackedeponie zur Ermittlung der Wertegehalte und Bewertung des Langzeitverhaltens der abgelagerten Schlacken (2015-2017): "TÖNSLM: Entwicklung innovativer Verfahren zur Rückgewinnung ausgewählter Ressourcen aus Siedlungsabfall- und Schlackendeponien. TP2: Ökonomische Bewertung, biologische und nasstechnische Aufbereitung." BMBF-Verbundvorhabens. In Zusammenarbeit mit der Main-Taunus-Recycling GmbH, Flörsheim -Wicker und CDM Smith, Albach. 
  • IKI (2012-2017): Klimafreundliche Technologien und Capacity Development zur Umsetzung der nationalen Abfallpolitik in Brasilien. Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH, Eschborn.
  • Phosphatrückgewinnung aus Deponien und Altablagerungen (2012-2016): Institut für Siedlungswasserwirtschaft, TU Braunschweig; Institut für Automobilwirtschaft und Industrielle Produktion, TU Braunschweig; Institut für Aufbereitung, Deponietechnik und Geomechanik, Lehrstuhl für Rohstoffaufbereitung und Recycling, TU Clausthal; Institut für Energie- und Umweltforischung, Heidelberg. LANUV NRW.
  • Vergärungs- und Kompostierungsanlagen (2015): 4-wöchige Ausbildung des Betriebspersonals & Laborpersonals & Managements der Vergärungs- und Kompostierungsanlagen Ljubljana (SVN). STRABAG (AT). 
  • MBT (2014-2015): Bauüberwachung von zwei MBT-Anlagen mit Sortier-, Vergärungs- und Kompostierungsstufe. In Kooperation mit einem örtlichen Ingenieurbüro. ENOB (BR).
  • Kompostverordnung & Gütesicherung (2014-2015): Entwicklung einer Kompostverordnung - Kompost, Gärrückstände und Gärrückstandskompost; Entwicklung einer Methode zur Gütesicherung von Kompost und Gärrückständen. GIZ-Eschborn
  • Vergärung als Baustein einer nachhaltigen Abfallwirtschaft für brasilianische Kommunen (2014-2015): Planung und Durchführung von drei Konferenzen. 

    (Jundiaí and Florianopolis). Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.

  • Abfallwirtschaftskonzept (2014-2015): Fortschreiben des Abfallwirtschaftskonzeptes der Stadt Braunschweig. ALBA Braunschweig GmbH.

  • MBA (2013-2015): Capacity Building und Grundlagenforschung zur Entwicklung und Inbetriebnahme einer mechanisch-biologischen Behandlungsanlage mit integrierter Vergärungsstufe für die Gemeinde Jundiaí, SP (Brasilien). Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst.

  • Treibhausgasemissionen aus MBA-Deponien (2013-2015): Treibhauspotenziale / Mechanismen / Strategien. Institut für Geoökologie, TU Braunschweig
    Institut für Agrarrelevante Klimaforschung (vTI)Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.

  • MBT (2013-2015): Kapazitätsaufbau und Grundlagenforschung zur Entwicklung und damit Inbetriebnahme einer mechanisch-biologischen Behandlungsanlage mit anaerober Vergärung (MBT) mit integrierter Vergärungsstufe für die Gemeinde Jundiaí, São Paulo (Brasil). Deutscher Akademischer Austauschdienst
  • r³ - Ressourcenrückgewinnung aus Hausmüll- und Hausmüllschlackendeponien (2012-2015): Kooperationsprojekt: TÖNSLM - Entwicklung innovativer Technologien und Strategien zur Rückgewinnung ausgewählter Ressourcen aus Hausmüll- und Hausmüllschlackendeponien. TP2: Wirtschaftliche Bewertung, biologische und nass-technische Behandlung. Institut für Siedlungswasserwirtschaft, TU Braunschweig. Institut für Automobilwirtschaft und Industrielle Produktion, TU Braunschweig. Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.
  • Subterrestrische Abwasserschacht-Biofilter (2009-2015): Entwicklungsvorhaben über subterrestrische Abwasserschacht-Biofilter auf dem Gelände der Deutschen Messe AG im Bereich der Halle 2. Deutsche Messe AG, Hannover.
  • Kompostierbarkeit von Espresso-Kapseln (2012-2014): Die Anwendbarkeit von Espresso-Kapseln aus biologisch abbaubaren Kunststoffen in der Heimkompostierung. Ethical Coffee Company, (CH).
  • Schulung von Personal (2014): Schulung von Personal der Genehmigungsbehörde SETESB (Staat São Paulo). GIZ-Eschborn.

  • Ablagerung von Abfällen aus MBA (2006-2014): Untersuchungen zum Bau und Betrieb der Schüttfelder zur Ablagerung von Abfällen aus der mechanisch-biologischen Abfallbehandlung auf der Deponie Blankenhagen des Landkreises Northeim.
  • Konzeptionierung, Kostenanalyse und Erstellung der Ausschreibungsunterlagen (2013): Konzeptionierung, Kostenanalyse und Erstellung der Ausschreibungsunterlagen für 3 Vergärungsanlagen in Mexico City (je 3.000 t/a). Merik Group, MC.
  • Steigerung der Energieeffizienz bei der Verwertung biogener Reststoffe (2011-2013): Datenerhebung zur Vergärung biogener Reststoffe, Evaluierung des Entwicklungspotenzials zur Steigerung der Energieeffizienz und der Energieausbeute. Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit.
  • Abfallaufbereitung & -verwertung (2011-2013): N2O-Treibhausemissionen aus der Aufbereitung und Verwertung des Abfalls. Institut für Geoökologie, TU Braunschweig. Institut für Agrarrelevante Klimaforschung (vTI); gefördert durch den Zukunftsfond der TU Braunschweig.
  • Wago (2011-2013): Optimierung von biologischen Kläranlagen durch Datenerfassung, Prozessautomatisierung und Spitzenlastmanagement. GVoA Minden; WAGO Kontakttechnik GmbH & Co. KG. 
  • Sortier- & Vergärungsanlagen (2011-2013): Basic Engineering für vier Standorte für Sortier- und Vergärungsanlagen im Raum São Paulo. ENOB, BR.
  • Deponien (seit 2012): Langzeitüberwachung de Setzungen und des Stofftransportes in der Basisabdichtung der Blockland Deponie Bremen.
  • Vergärung (2012): Auswertung von Angeboten zu FuE-Vorhaben im Bereich der Vergärung für die Agencia Nacional de Energia Electrica (ANEEL), Brasilia. GIZ-Eschborn.
  • Algae (2010-2012): Verwendung von Fermentationsausgangsmaterial zur nachhaltigen Algenzucht. GVoA Minden.
  • Anaerobe Vergärung in Flüssen (2009-2012): Verbesserung der Anwendung der anaeroben Vergärung im Mekong-Fluss, Vietnam. Vietnam Government und Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.
  • BMU (2009-2012): Ein mehrstufiger Ansatz zur Steigerung der Energieeffizienz von Behandlungsanlagen für organische Reststoffe. BMU.
  • Intermediate (2009-2012): Die intermediäre aerobe Hydrolyse: Ein neuer Weg zur Verbesserung der Biogasausbeute? UBA.
  • Leistungsfähigkeit der MBA (2008-2012): Leistungsfähigkeit der MBA-Gaobeidian mit integrierter Anaerobstufe (PR-China) zur Energiegewinnung und zum Klimaschutz bei unterschiedlichen Verwertungs- und Behandlungsansätzen - IKI-Projekt. AWN, Buchen und Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung.
  • Kompost- & Vergärungsanlagen (seit 2011): Erstellung von diversen Risikoanalysen zum Bau und Betrieb von Kompost- und Vergärungsanlagen

    Auftraggeber: Caixa Economica, Brasilia (BR).

  • MBT (2008-2010): Errichtung und Überwachung von Testfeldern für die MBA-Entsorgung. Landkreis Northeim, Abfallzweckverband Süd-Ost-Niedersachsen.
  • Mechanisch-biologische Abfallbehandlung (2008-2009): Mechanisch-biologische Behandlung kommunaler Abfälle in Villa Alemana (Chile). GIZ Frankfurt und Faber Ambra, Alzey.
  • Mechanisch-biologische Restabfallbehandlung (2004-2009): Pilotprojekt zur mechanisch-biologischen Restabfallbehandlung und Deponierung einschließlich Sickerwasserreinigung sowie Altlastensanierung in Novo Hamburgo, Br, Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung.
  • Pakistan (2007-2008): Wiederaufbau der Abfallentsorgung Bagh (Pakistan). People in Need (Prag, CR) et al.; EU Kommission Programm: EU ASIA PROECO II.
  • MBA (2006-2008): Wissenschaftlich technische Begleitung der MBA Südniedersachsen. Abfallzweckverband Südniedersachsen. 
  • China (2006-2007): Methanminimierte Abfallbeseitigung Gaobeidian (China). AWN (Buchen); KFW Entwicklungsbank.