Group of Prof. Dr. Hermann Wätzig

Members: Finja Krebs, Kai Jorrit Maul, Mais Olabi, Dr. Imke Oltmann-Norden, Dr. Lutz Preu, Christin Scheller, Matthias Stein, Rebecca Wiesner, Holger Zagst

Gruppenfoto AK Wätzig
Photo credit: Annika Timm/TU Braunschweig

In close collaboration with pharmaceutical companies and national as well as European competent authorities we work on analytical topics, emphazising separation techniques, protein and proteome analysis, quality assurance of biotechnically produced pharmaceuticals and statistical issues from quality control.

Hence we employ capillary and gel electrophoresis (CE and SDS-PAGE, 2-DE), HPLC and mass spectrometry, we develop strategies to economically qualify analytical instrumentation, we optimize and validate methods, especially in order to improve precision and accuracy. In the last time we achieved percental relative standard deviations RSD% of approximately 1 to 2% for various analytical application of chromatography in bioanalysis (SEC, SAX, RP-LC), further we obtained similar numbers even for gel electrophoresis.

We work out concepts how to set specifications and how to use statistical process control (SPC) with the goal to facilitate the parametric release. Moreover trend test, data evaluation related to method transfers and outlier detection are related to this branch.

One recent research topic deals with affinity capillary electrophoresis (ACE). This is an efficient and precise possibility to study interactions in solutions. We use this approach to investigate specific interactions of proteins with e.g. metal ions or anions from organic acids. By this way we also like to better understand, how proteins influence their direct environment and how this is related to various mechanisms of biochemical regulation and to the efficacy of pharmaceuticals.

In this context we became generally interested in the analytical quality of Ligand Binding Assays (LBAs), that is in their precision and accuracy and in the related optimization strategies. In addition to ACE, we also practically employ Surface Plasmon Resonance (SPR) analysis.

Are you interested in a collaboration in one of these fields? We are looking forward to hear from you:

contact:

Prof. Dr. Hermann Wätzig 
Institute for Medicinal and Pharmaceutical Chemistry 
38106 Braunschweig
Beethovenstr. 55
Phone: +49-531 - 391 2764 or 391 2751
Fax.: +49-531 - 391 2799
h.waetzig(at)tu-bs.de

Short CV:

Prof. Dr. Hermann Wätzig studied pharmacy at the Freie Universität Berlin from 1981 to 1985. PhD thesis 1989 about an HPLC topic. From 1990 lecturer at the Institut für Pharmazie in Würzburg. Habilitation 1995. In 1999 appointment to a professorship in pharmaceutical chemistry at the Technical University of Braunschweig. Since 2001 chair of the division pharmaceutical analysis/quality control of the German Pharmaceutical Society.

TU BRAUNSCHWEIG

Arbeitsgruppe Professor Dr. Hermann WätzigProf. Dr. Hermann Watzig

Mitarbeiter: Mufarreh Asmari, Dr. Sami El Deeb, Julia Kahle, Kai Jorrit Maul, Mona Mozafari Torshizi, Mais Olabi, Dr. Lutz Preu, Matthias Stein, Franziska Pögel, Rebecca Wiesner

              


In enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Pharmazeutischen Industrie und nationalen sowie europäischen Behördenvertretern bearbeiten wir analytische Themen mit Schwerpunkten bei Trenntechniken, Protein- und Proteomanalytik, der Qualitätssicherung biotechnisch hergestellter Arzneistoffe und statistischer Fragestellungen aus der Qualitätskontrolle.

Dazu setzen wir Kapillar- und Gelelektrophorese (CE und SDS-PAGE, 2-DE), HPLC und Massenspektrometrie ein, entwickeln Strategien zur ökonomischen Qualifizierung von Messinstrumenten, optimieren und validieren Methoden, besonders um Präzision und Richtigkeit zu verbessern. Zuletzt haben wir hier in der Bioanalytik prozentuale relative Standardabweichungen RSD% von etwa 1 bis 2% für verschiedene chromatographische Techniken (SEC, SAX, RP-LC), aber auch für die Gelelektrophorese erreicht.

Wir erarbeiten Vorgehensweisen zur Spezifikationssetzung und zur Statistischen Prozesskontrolle (SPC), mit dem Ziel, die parametrische Freigabe zu erleichtern. Außerdem beschäftigen wir uns mit Trendtests, mit der Datenauswertung beim Methodentransfer und mit der Ausreißererkennung.

Aktuell beschäftigen wir uns besonders mit ACE, der Affinitätskapillarelektrophorese. Dies ist eine effiziente und präzise Möglichkeit, Wechselwirkungen in Lösungen zu studieren. Wir nutzen diese Technik, um spezifische Interaktionen von Proteinen mit z.B. Metallionen oder Anionen organischer Säuren zu untersuchen. Dadurch wollen wir besser verstehen, wie Proteine ihre direkte Umgebung prägen und wie dieses mit biochemischen Regulationsmechanismen und der Wirkung von Arzneimitteln zusammenhängt.

In diesem Kontext beschäftigen wir uns auch allgemein mit der analytischen Qualität von Ligandenbindungsassays (LBAs), also deren Präzision und Richtigkeit und mit zusammenhängenden Optimierungsstrategien. Außer ACE setzen wir dazu Surface Plasmon Resonanz (SPR)-Analytik praktisch ein.

 

Falls Sie Interesse an einer Kooperation in einem dieser Forschungsbereiche haben, würden wir uns über eine Kontaktaufnahme freuen.


  aktualisiert am 09.11.2017
TU_Icon_E_Mail_1_17x17_RGB Zum Seitenanfang