About TU Braunschweig

Things you should know about us

■ 17,800 students in 86 study programmes
■ excellent research and research-oriented teaching
■ personal atmosphere and individual support
■ longest tradition among German Universities 
   of Technology and member of the TU9 
■ international profile and open-minded community
■ Diversity, variety and sustainability are important to us

More than 275 Years of Experience in Teaching and Research

TU Braunschweig is a university of research with a long tradition of excellent research and teaching. We are part of the TU9 network, the alliance of the leading Universities of Technology in Germany. Technische Universität Braunschweig is the academic focal point of Braunschweig, the “City of Science”, rich in tradition and located in the heart of one of Europe’s most active research regions. With 17,800 students and a staff of 3,800, we are the largest Institute of Technology in Northern Germany. Our campus is the ideal size for a university: our first-class teaching and research activities have access to state-of-the-art facilities while offering an intimate atmosphere at the same time.  TU Braunschweig is a member of TU9, an association of the top nine German universities of technoloy.

Studying at TU Braunschweig

Our interdisciplinary degree programmes range from Environmental Science to Biochemical, Chemical and Pharmaceutical Engineering, and from Energy Systems Engineering and Data Science to Transport Engineering. Still, anyone looking to study a classic subject from the fields of engineering, natural sciences or humanities has also come to the right place here. Our 86 study programmes with a variety of combinations and specialisations will allow you to pursue the very subject that you are most interested in.

Many of our degree programmes are developed and offered in conjunction with neighbouring research institutions, such as the Metrology and Analytics master’s programme that is the only one of its kind in Germany and is offered in cooperation with the German metrology institute PTB, which is one of the world's leading institutes in metrology.

Our degree programmes provide solid and in-depth fundamentals in the Bachelor's degree programmes and offer diverse individual specialisations in the Master's degree programmes. Our students are able to participate in current research projects at an early stage and gain an understanding of scientific issues.

International

TU Braunschweig is a cosmopolitan research university that actively promotes international exchange. Around 3,200 international students from 120 different countries are currently studying at TU Braunschweig.

We are proud to welcome people from all continents.

Most of our international students come from Asia, followed by Europe. Excellent mentoring, onboarding and support services make them feel at home with us.

There are ample opportunities for international students to network with other students, for example through city tours, excursions or welcome parties. Student initiatives such as the Erasmus Student Network (ESN) also offer so-called buddy programmes. Even before their arrival students have a personal “buddy” who will be able to answer many questions and help with any organisational issues on site.

The language of instruction at TU Braunschweig is primarily German. Many degree programmes also offer English and bilingual courses, which you can find here in an overview:
Courses taught in English

 

Discover the world during your studies!

One third of all our students spend part of their studies outside of Germany. Dual degrees with US, French, Lithuanian, Brazilian and Chinese universities qualify our graduates for the international job market. Student exchange, research projects and work placements in foreign countries allow them to gain invaluable international experience.

A student with a thoughtful expression on her face. The picture also shows the text: Flashback Studienstart - Campus Stories

Research

More than 240 professors and more than 2,100 academic employees work in research and teaching, distributed across 6 faculties and 120 institutes.

Our research orientation is also reflected in our teaching: At TU Braunschweig you will learn from and with academics who are themselves actively engaged in research and are leading experts in their field, who work passionately on their scientific questions and who challenge you to think and work independently to find solutions.

Get to know us and get an impression of more than 275 years of experience in teaching and research.

An active research region

With the highest level of investments in research and development, Braunschweig is the centre of Germany’s most active research region, according to European Union statistics. This is excellent for Braunschweig, and excellent for our students. Numerous local research institutions partner with TU Braunschweig and offer students the chance to participate in their

projects: multiple Helmholtz Centres, Fraunhofer Institutes and Leibniz Institutes, federal research institutes, museums and major companies.

Über die TU Braunschweig

Was Sie über uns wissen sollten

■  17.800 Studierende in 86 Studiengängen
■  Exzellente Forschung und forschungsorientierte Lehre
■  persönliche Atmosphäre und individuelle Betreuung
■  traditionsreichste TU Deutschlands und TU9-Mitglied
■  internationales Profil und weltoffene Gemeinschaft
■  Vielfalt, Diversity und Nachhaltigkeit werden großgeschrieben

Über 275 Jahre Erfahrung in Lehre und Forschung

Die Technische Universität Braunschweig ist das akademische Zentrum Braunschweigs, der traditionsreichen »Stadt der Wissenschaft« inmitten einer der aktivsten Forschungsregionen Europas. Mit 17.800 Studierenden und 3.800 Beschäftigten sind wir die größte Technische Universität Norddeutschlands mit großer Tradition in exzellenter Forschung und Lehre. Wir sind Teil des TU9-Netzwerks, der Allianz der führenden Technischen Universitäten in Deutschland.

Studieren an der TU Braunschweig

Soll es ein fächerübergreifender Studiengang wie Umweltnaturwissenschaften oder Bio-, Chemie- und Pharmaingenieurwesen, Energiesystemtechnik, Data Science oder Verkehrsingenieurwesen sein? Oder eher ein klassisches ingenieur-, natur-, geistes- und sozialwissenschaftliche Fach? An der TU Braunschweig steht Ihnen ein großes Portfolio an Studiengängen offen: Ob Informatik oder Mathematik, Biologie oder Germanistik, Elektromobilität oder Maschinenbau – unsere 86 Studiengänge mit unterschiedlichen Kombinationsmöglichkeiten und Schwerpunktsetzungen ermöglichen es Ihnen, genau das Fach zu studieren, das Sie besonders interessiert.

Viele Studiengänge bieten wir in zusammen mit benachbarten Forschungseinrichtungen an, den deutschlandweit einmaligen Masterstudiengang Messtechnik und Analytik zum Beispiel mit der Physikalisch-Technischen Bundesanstalt, die zu den weltweit führenden Instituten der Metrologie gehört.

Unsere Studiengänge vermitteln solide und vertiefte Grundlagen in den Bachelorstudiengängen und bieten vielfältige individuelle Spezialisierungen in den Masterstudiengängen. Unsere Studierenden können früh in aktuellen Forschungsprojekten mitwirken und sich wissenschaftliche Sachverhalte erschließen.

International

Die TU Braunschweig ist eine weltoffene Forschungsuniversität, die den internationalen Austausch aktiv fördert. Rund 3.200 internationale Studierende aus 120 Ländern studieren derzeit an der TU Braunschweig.

Wir sind stolz darauf, Menschen von allen Kontinenten bei uns zu begrüßen. 

Die meisten unserer internationalen Studierenden kommen aus Asien, gefolgt von Europa. Exzellente Betreuung, Onboarding- und Support-Angebote sorgen dafür, dass sie sich bei uns zu Hause fühlen.

Für alle internationalen Studierenden gibt es viele Möglichkeiten, sich mit anderen Studierenden zu vernetzen, zum Beispiel mit Stadtführungen, Exkursionen oder Willkommenspartys. Studierendeninitiativen wie das Erasmus Student Network (ESN) bieten zusätzlich sogenannte Buddy-Programme an. Bereits vor der Ankunft haben Studierende einen persönlichen „Buddy“, der viele Fragen beantworten kann und auch vor Ort bei allen organisatorischen Themen hilft.

Die Unterrichtssprache an der TU Braunschweig ist vorrangig deutsch. Viele Studiengänge bieten auch englische und bilinguale Lehrveranstaltungen an, die Sie hier in einer Übersicht finden: Englischsprachige Lehrveranstaltungen

Im Studium die Welt entdecken!

Ein Drittel unserer Studierenden verbringt einen Teil ihres Studiums im Ausland: Doppelabschlüsse mit US-amerikanischen, französischen, litauischen, brasilianischen und chinesischen Universitäten qualifizieren unsere Absolvent*innen für den internationalen Arbeitsmarkt; Austauschstudium, Forschungsarbeiten oder Praktika im Ausland bieten die Möglichkeit, internationale Erfahrungen zu sammeln.

Eine Studentin mit nachdenklichem Gesichtsausdruck. Das Bild zeigt außerdem den Schriftzug: Flashback Studienstart -Campus Stories

Forschung

In Forschung und Lehre arbeiten insgesamt mehr als 240 Professor*innen und mehr als 2.100 wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter*innen, verteilt auf 6 Fakultäten und 120 Institute.

Unsere Forschungsorientierung spiegelt sich auch in unserer Lehre wider: An der TU Braunschweig lernen Sie von und mit Akademiker*innen, die aktiv forschen und führende Expert*innen ihres Fachs sind, die leidenschaftlich an ihren wissenschaftlichen Fragestellungen arbeiten und die Sie dazu herausfordern, selbstständig Lösungen zu finden und zu arbeiten.

Lernen Sie uns kennen und machen Sie sich einen Eindruck von über 275 Jahren Erfahrung in Lehre und Forschung.

Aktive Forschungsregion

Braunschweig ist mit den höchsten Investitionen in Forschung und Entwicklung das Zentrum der aktivsten Forschungsregion Deutschlands, so die Statistik der Europäischen Union. Gut für Braunschweig, gut für unsere Studierenden. Sie können in unseren Partner-Forschungseinrichtungen mitarbeiten: in Helmholtz-Zentren, Fraunhofer- und Leibniz-Instituten, Bundesforschungs-

einrichtungen, Museen und Unternehmen.