Campus life and involvement

Learn more about our lively and diverse campus

■ almost 90 student associations and initiatives
■ attractive student workplaces
■ Central student house (opening WS 2022)
■ shaping the campus with “Sandkasten
■ exciting events on campus
■ diversity and sustainability are important to us
■ student representation by the AStA
■ 30 student councils

There is more to being a student than studying

Naturally, studying in Braunschweig not only takes place in lecture halls and nightclubs: almost 90 student associations at TU Braunschweig offer you plenty of opportunities to get involved and make contacts beyond the daily routine of studying.

Das Uniorchester AkaBlas spielt während der feierlichen Begrüßung der Erstsemester der TU Braunschweig im Eintracht-Stadion in Braunschweig.

You can, for instance, get involved musically with AkaBlas, the orchestra or the choir of the university, support environmentally friendly projects with the Green Office and Enactus or help students on their way into professional life with Bonding. If you prefer experimenting, tinkering or programming and would like to put the knowledge you have acquired during your studies into practice, you can work on your own racing car with the Lions Racing Team or take off with Akaflieg or ERIG. Try out what suits you.

Whether on stage, in workshops or in cockpits: 86 study programmes at our university naturally also contribute to the diversity and interdisciplinarity of everything that happens outside the lecture hall. As a student at TU Braunschweig, you have the opportunity to get involved wherever you want – As a student at TU Braunschweig, you have the opportunity to get involved wherever you want - either with reference to your field of study or your interests. Making friends is guaranteed.

On this page you will find an overview of the registered student initiatives and associations at TU Braunschweig:

See overview(German)

The Campus lives from your ideas

A woman takes a photo of a man next to a bench made of Euro pallets in the Forum Square

With the “Sandkasten” (sandbox) platform, students have the opportunity to make the campus more liveable and sustainable with their own ideas or to participate in other people's projects. Around 150 projects have already been implemented, such as the self-built pallet benches on University Square or a bicycle repair station on campus.

You can also play an active role in the development of our university by participating in a number of committees and commissions. This also includes the AStA, the General Students' Committee, which is elected by the students every semester and is the official representation of our students towards the university and politics, but also for social issues. If you want to get involved in your own area of study and help shape the future of your study programme, it is also worthwhile to get involved in the relevant student councils.

Whether in shaping the campus, active participation in committees and commissions or support for international students: in Braunschweig you will find freedom for active participation – and both the university and the campus need your student involvement.


Sports

Whether you prefer the gym or fitness centre on campus, relax in the massage chair, play beach volleyball or even try out sailing, parachuting or climbing, with more than 200 classes per week in 100 sports, our Sports Centre offers the broadest sports programme in the region.

See our sports programme(German)

Sports centre running track in autumn

Events on Campus

At TU Braunschweig there are a variety of different events, many of which are free of charge, that are open to you as a student and to anyone who is interested - perfect for broadening your own horizons or discovering the campus from a different perspective together with your fellow students.

We consider it important to bring all members of our university together outside the lecture hall and to make what happens at our university visible to the public. For example at "Profs at Turntables" our professors play music for a good cause in the clubs of Braunschweig. You can also broaden your horizons at lecture series, listen to comcerts of the orchestra or the university choir, talk to experts from various faculties and much more. You can find all events related to TU Braunschweig here:

See all events

Campusleben und Engagement

Unser Campus ist bunt

■ knapp 90 studentische Vereinigungen und Initiativen
■ attraktive studentische Arbeitsplätze
■ Zentrales Studierendenhaus (Eröffnung WS 2022)
■ Campusgestaltung mit dem "Sandkasten"
■ spannende Veranstaltungen auf dem Campus
■ Vielfalt, Diversity und Nachhaltigkeit werden großgeschrieben
■ Vertretung der Studierenden durch den AStA
■ 30 Fachgruppen

Studium bedeutet mehr als studieren

Das Studium in Braunschweig spielt sich natürlich nicht nur im Hörsaal und im Club ab: Die knapp 90 studentischen Vereinigungen an der TU Braunschweig bieten Ihnen jede Menge Möglichkeiten, sich abseits des Studienalltags einzubringen und Kontakte zu knüpfen.

Das Unicorchester AkaBlas während der feierlichen Begrüßung der Erstsemester der TU Braunschweig im Eintracht-Stadion.

So können Sie sich beispielsweise musikalisch bei AkaBlas, dem Orchester oder dem Chor der TU einbringen, sich im Green Office und bei Enactus für umweltfreundliche Projekte an der Uni einsetzen oder bei Bonding Studierende auf dem Weg ins Berufsleben unterstützen. Falls Sie lieber schrauben, basteln oder programmieren und ihr im Studium erworbenes Wissen in die Praxis umsetzen möchten, können Sie beim Lions Racing Team am eigenen Rennwagen arbeiten oder mit Akaflieg oder der ERIG abheben. Probieren Sie aus, was zu Ihnen passt.

Ob auf der Bühne, in der Werkstatt oder im Cockpit: Die 86 Studiengänge unserer Universität tragen natürlich auch zur Vielfalt und Interdisziplinarität all dessen bei, was außerhalb des Hörsaals passiert. Als Studierende der TU Braunschweig haben Sie die Möglichkeit, sich dort einzubringen, wo Sie möchten – entweder mit Bezug zu Ihrem Studienfach oder zu Ihren Interessen. Freundschaften entstehen dabei garantiert.

Hier finden Sie eine Übersicht über die eingetragenen studentischen Vereine und Initiativen an der TU Braunschweig:

Zur Übersicht

Der Campus lebt von Ihren Ideen

Eine Frau fotografiert auf dem Forumsplatz einen Mann neben einer Bank aus Europaletten.

Mit der Plattform "Sandkasten" haben Studierende die Möglichkeit, mit eigenen Ideen den Campus lebenswerter und nachhaltiger zu gestalten oder bei Projekten anderer mitzumachen. Zu den etwa 150 bereits umgesetzten Projekten gehören zum Beispiel die selbstgebauten Palettenbänke auf dem Universitätsplatz oder eine Fahrradreparaturstation  auf dem Campus.

Sich aktiv in die Entwicklung unserer Universität einzubringen, ist auch in unseren Gremien und Kommissionen möglich. Dazu gehört auch der AStA, der Allgemeine Studierendenausschuss, der jedes Semester von den Studierenden gewählt wird und die offizielle Vertretung der Studierenden gegenüber Hochschule und Politik, aber auch für sozial Belange ist. Um sich im eigenen Studienfach einzubringen und dessen Zukunft mitzugestalten, lohnt sich auch das Engagement in den entsprechenden Fachgruppen.

Ob bei der Campusgestaltung, der aktiven Mitbestimmung in Gremien und Kommissionen oder der Unterstützung internationaler Studierender: In Braunschweig haben Sie Raum zur aktiven Mitgestaltung – und sowohl die Universität als auch der Campus brauchen Ihr studentisches Engagement.


Uni-Sport

Ob in der Sporthalle, im Campus-Fitnesscenter, auf den Beachvolleyballfeldern, im Massagesessel, beim Segeln, Klettern oder Fußball: Mit über 200 Kursen in über 100 Sportarten pro Woche bietet unser Sportzentrum das größte Sportprogramm der Region.

Zum Sportprogramm

Laufbahn des Sportzentrums im Herbst

Veranstaltungen auf dem Campus

An der TU Braunschweig gibt es eine Vielzahl von unterschiedlichen oft kostenlosen Veranstaltungen, die für Sie als Studierende und für alle Interessierten zugänglich sind – perfekt um den eigenen Horizont zu erweitern oder gemeinsam mit den Kommiliton*innen den Campus aus einer anderen Perspektive zu entdecken.

Uns ist wichtig, alle Angehörigen unserer Hochschule auch außerhalb des Hörsaals zusammenzubringen und das, was an unserer Universität passiert, für die Öffentlichkeit sichtbar zu machen. Bei „Profs at Turntables“ legen zum Beispiel unsere Professor*innen für einen guten Zweck in Braunschweiger Clubs auf. Darüber hinaus können Sie bei Ringvorlesungen Ihren Horizont erweitern, bei Konzerten den Klängen des Orchesters oder des Uni-Chors lauschen, bei Talk-Runden in den Austausch mit Expert*innen verschiedener Fakultäten gehen und vieles mehr. Alle Veranstaltungen rund um die TU Braunschweig finden Sie hier:

Zum Veranstaltungskalender