CDInfect

[Translate to English:]

Adaptation strategies of Clostridioides difficile during host infection

About the Project

The bacterium Clostridioides difficile (former: Clostridium difficile) currently causes a high number of cases of illness with hundreds, if not thousands of deaths per year. The C. difficile associated diarrhea (CDAD) is one of the most dangerous infections acquired in the hospital.

 

Funding of the Project

The project of the Norddeutsches Zentrum für Mikrobielle Genomforschung (NZMG) is supported by the State of Lower Saxony from funds of the Niedersächisches Vorab from VolkswagenStiftung.

 

Information

  • Funding Period: 3rd Funding period: 2018-2020

Project Partner

  • Leibniz Institute DSMZ German Collection of Microorganisms and Cell Cultures GmbH

  • Friedrich-Loeffler-Institute
  • Helmholtz-Centre for Infection Research
  • Medical University of Hannover
  • Twincore Hannover
  • University Greifswald
  • Universitätsmedizin Göttingen

Systems Biology of C. difficile

Pipette und 96 well Platte
Photo credit: Bierstedt/TU Braunschweig

The intestinal bacterium C. difficile causes life-threatening diseases, from diarrhea to severe inflammation of the intestine, which occur especially after antibiotic treatment. The most severe manifestation is a toxic megacolon, a very painful enlargement of the intestine, which leads to several thousand deaths per year in Germany. Until recently, there was no coordinated research on this important pathogen in Germany. With the support of the federal states of Lower Saxony and Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, a consortium for C. difficile research was founded in 2013. The consortium is very interdisciplinary and examines the role of bacterial adaptation mechanisms, the effect of toxins and the effect of the microbiome (the totality of all bacteria in the intestine) on C. difficile infections in different project areas.

The aim is a basic understanding of the organism in its environment, which can be used to develop therapies and diagnostics of C. difficile infections.

Project areas

Anaeroben Bank
Photo credit: Bierstedt/TU Braunschweig

In project area A (adaptation), infection relevant parameters including energy metabolism, biofilm formation, oxygen stress, pH, osmolarity, bile acids, antimicrobial peptides and protein modification will be investigated using joint transcriptomics, proteomics, metabolomics, interactomics and structural biology approaches. Bioinformatics-based data integration will help to identify the regulatory and metabolic networks of C. difficile underlying host adaptation, toxin production and successful infection. Conclusions will be validated in appropriate infection models (mouse, swine) and tested with representative clinical and environmental C. difficile isolates.

In project area B (toxins), the structure function-relationships of different C. difficile toxinotypes and their domains will be determined. The yet not understood proteomic and metabolic host responses to toxin exposure will be further investigated up to the host organelle level (mitochondria). Finally, the influence of bile acids, mucus and extracellular matrix on toxin function will be studied.

In project area C (microbiome), the interaction of C. difficile with the human/swine microbiome of the host is investigated using meta-transcriptome, -proteome and -metabolome profiling. Alterations in the microbiome and the intestinal barrier upon primary infection to cause recurrent infections will be approached. Comparative genome analyses of C. difficile from multiple natural sources (animals, soils, waters) will aid to identify underlying evolutionary forces, natural reservoirs, and transmission pathways. The genomic co-evolution of C. difficile and the microbiome will be elucidated.

 

Project Details


Contact

Speaker

Prof. Dr. Dieter Jahn

Technische Universität Braunschweig
Institut für Mikrobiologie
+49 531-391-55101

Email: d.jahn@tu-braunschweig.de

Project management

Dr. Anita Remus

Technische Universität Braunschweig
BRICS
+49 531-391-55102

Email: a.remus@tu-braunschweig.de

CDInfect

cdifficile_grün

Über das Projekt

Das Bakterium Clostridioides difficile (ehemals: Clostridium difficile) verursacht derzeit eine hohe Anzahl von Krankheitsfällen mit Hunderten, wenn nicht Tausenden von Todesfällen pro Jahr. Die C. difficile assoziierte Diarrhoe (CDAD) ist eine der gefährlichsten im Krankenhaus erworbenen Infektionen

Projektförderung

Gefördert wird das Projekt im Rahmen des Norddeutschen Zentrums für Mikrobielle Genomforschung (NZMG) vom Land Niedersachsen aus Mitteln des Niedersächischen Vorabs der VolkswagenStiftung.

Projektinformationen

  • Förderungsdauer: 3. Förderperiode 2018-2020

Projektpartner

  • Leibniz-Institut DSMZ-Deutsche Sammlung von Mikroorganismen und Zellkulturen GmbH
  • Friedrich-Loeffler-Institut
  • Helmholtz-Zentrum für Infektionsforschung
  • Medizinische Hochschule Hannover
  • Twincore Hannover
  • Universität Greifswald
  • Universitätsmedizin Göttingen

Systembiologie von C.difficile

Pipette und 96 well Platte
Bildnachweis: Bierstedt/TU Braunschweig

Das Darmbakterium C. difficile verursacht lebensbedrohliche Erkrankungen, von Durchfall bis hin zu schweren Entzündungen des Darms, die insbesondere nach Antibiotika-Behandlung auftreten. Die schwerste Ausprägungsform ist ein toxisches Megakolon, eine sehr schmerzhafte Erweiterung des Darms, die zu mehreren tausend Todesfällen pro Jahr in Deutschland führt. Bis vor kurzem gab es in Deutschland keine koordinierte Forschung zu diesem wichtigen Krankheitserreger. Mit Unterstützung der Länder Niedersachsen und Mecklenburg-Vorpommern hat sich 2013 ein Konsortium für die C. difficile-Forschung gegründet. Das Konsortium ist sehr interdisziplinär und untersucht gezielt in unterschiedlichen Projektbereichen die Rolle bakterieller Anpassungsmechanismen, die Wirkung der Toxine und die Wirkung des Mikrobioms (die Gesamtheit aller Bakterien im Darm) bei C. difficile-Infektionen.

iel ist ein grundlegendes Verständnis des Organismus in seiner Umgebung, das zur Entwicklung von Therapien und Diagnostik von C.difficile-Infektionen genutzt werden kann.

Projektbereiche

Anaeroben Bank
Bildnachweis: Bierstedt/TU Braunschweig

Im Projektbereich A (Anpassung) werden die Veränderungen im Bakterium während der Infektion untersucht. In einem systembiologischen Ansatz werden die Untersuchungen mit Hilfe der OMICs-Technologien auf allen Ebenen der Zelle durchgeführt. Basierend auf computergestützten Methoden erfolgt anschließend die entscheidende Zusammenführung der komplexen experimentellen Messdaten. Ziel ist es, die regulatorischen Netzwerke und den Stoffwechsel von C. difficile während des Infektionsprozesses zu verstehen.

Im Projektbereich B (Toxine) wird die Wirkung der von C. difficile gebildeten Gifte auf die menschlichen Zellen im Darm untersucht. Hier wird aufgeklärt, welche Reaktionen in den Proteinen und im Stoffwechsel der Wirtszelle ausgelöst werden. Dabei spielen auch andere Faktoren im Darm eine Rolle, zum Beispiel körpereigene Gallensäuren und Schleimbildung. Ziel ist es, die molekularen Mechanismen zu verstehen, die dem komplexen Krankheitsbild zugrunde liegen.

Im Projektbereich C (Mikrobiom) wird das Zusammenspiel zwischen C. difficile-Bakterien und dem Mikrobiom untersucht. Hier werden die OMICs-Technologien zur Untersuchung von Veränderungen des Mikrobioms bei C. difficile-Infektionen angewendet („Meta-Omics“), wobei das Schwein als Modellorganismus etabliert wird. Auch die Interaktionen des Immunsystems mit dem Mikrobiom bei rekurrenten Infektionen werden hier untersucht. Ziel ist es, den Einfluss des Mikrobioms auf den Ausbruch und die Überwindung der Infektion zu verstehen.

In den drei Projektbereichen werden alle aktuell hoch relevanten Fragestellungen zu C. difficile umfassend bearbeitet.

Details des Projekts


Kontakt

Sprecher

Prof. Dr. Dieter Jahn

Technische Universität Braunschweig
Institut für Mikrobiologie
+49 531-391-55101

Email: d.jahn@tu-braunschweig.de

Projektkoordination

Dr. Anita Remus

Technische Universität Braunschweig
BRICS
+49 531-391-55102

Email: a.remus@tu-braunschweig.de