The research focus

The research focus Metrology covers the topic of measurement in all its diversity. At TU Braunschweig, this diversity comes together in one place in the Laboratory for Emerging Nanometrology (LENA). There, our researchers investigate atomic structures in a high-resolution electron microscope. Or, they develop their own unique devices to enter uncharted territory, such as terahertz frequencies.

Starting from such basic research of measurement, our researchers in the research focus Metrology put the knowledge gained into practice. For example, in the epitaxy competence center ec², they reduce LEDs to nanometer size and use them to produce fist-sized microscopes that work beyond the diffraction limit.

Another special feature of the Metrology research focus is the many connections to our partners. In the Cluster of Excellence QuantumFrontiers, we are conducting joint research with the Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt and Leibniz Universität Hannover on the limits of the measurable. The advance into unprecedented sensitivity and precision lays the foundation for developing a scalable quantum computer together with industrial partners in Quantum Valley Lower Saxony.

From the magazine


Verdrehtes Licht eröffnet neue Einblicke

Silvia Müllner wollte schon in der Grundschule Wissenschaftlerin werden. Was ...


Einzelmolekül-MRT durch Quantensensoren

Die Kernspinresonanz (NMR) ist aus der medizinischen Diagnostik nicht mehr ...


Europas Quantenherz schlägt 2023 in Niedersachsen

Niedersachsens Quantenallianz QVLS bringt die European Quantum Technologies Conference (EQTC) ...



Members and Board

Member Represented by Board of Directors
EXC QuantumFrontiers Prof. Stefanie Kroker  
Research Center LENA Prof. Andreas Waag Speaker
Research Training Group NanoMet Prof. Meinhard Schilling Member
Intern. Graduate School for Metrology Prof. Andrey Surzhykov  
Research Group Metrology for THz Communications Prof. Thomas Kürner  
Metrology Initiative Braunschweig Dr. Bosse (advisory)  
Department 1 Prof. Sandor Fekete  
Department 2 Prof. Hermann Wätzig  
Department 3 Prof. Markus Gerke  
Department 4 Prof. Georg Garnweitner Member
Department 5 Prof. Michael Kurrat  
Department 6 Prof. Rainer Müller