Former Members

Dr. Christoph Harig

Dr. Christoph Harig was a research fellow (post-doc) at the Institute of International Relations from 2021 to 2023. His research and teaching focus is on "Non-traditional Security Threats" and "Global Governance, International Institutions and Policy Diffusion". From 1 April 2023, Dr Christoph Harig will be an associate professor at the Royal Danish Defense College in Copenhagen.

Denise Päthe

Denise Päthe was Ph.D. researcher at the Institute of International Relations from September 2018 to December 2020. Her focus was on Global Governance, International Institutions and Policy Diffusion. Most recently she worked on the project REPLAWA, which analyzes aspects of plastic regulation on an international level.

Janina Kandt

Janina Kandt was a PhD researcher at the Institute of International Relations from April 2016 to October 2020. Her area of responsibility contained reasearching aswell as lecturing. Most recently she worked on her dissertation with the title 'Informality Matters in EU Justice and Home Affairs. How Non-State Actors Shape The EU Policy Making Process in regular Migration and Anti-Human Trafficking Policies' which she successfully passed in August 2020.

PD Dr. Gabi Schlag Mitarbeiterprofil

PD Dr. Gabi Schlag joined the Institute for International Relations for the Wintersemester 2018/19. She was lecturing in the field of peace and conflict research and she supported the development of a research data base. She habilitated at the Helmut Schmidt University in 2017, holds a PhD from the Goethe University Frankfurt and a Master's degree in Political Science, Sociology and Art History.

Jasmin Haunschild, M.A.

Jasmin Haunschild was a guest researcher at the Institute of International Relations. She worked as a junior lecturer at the Institute between 2016 and 2018. Her teaching focused on scientific methods and crime governance. At the Institute Jasmin Haunschild conducted research in the fields of governance of global illegal markets and non-traditional security threats. She has also dealt with the topic of big data and its consequences for students.

Dr. Mina Samaan

Dr. Mina Michel Samaan has been at the Institute of International Relations as a PhD researcher since November 2013. He obtained his doctorate in August 2017. His study was funded by the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) through the Excellence Center for Sustainable Water Management in Developing Countries (EXCEED-SWINDON). In his research Mina Samaan focused on questions of conflict and cooperation over shared resources in the Eastern Nile Basin.

Dr. Michael Fürstenberg

Dr. Michael Fürstenberg worked at the Institute of International Relations between 2008 and 2016. His dissertation has been published by Springer VS with the title "Friedenskonsolidierung in transnationalen Konflikten. Der Einfluss grenzüberschreitender Faktoren auf die Beendigung von Bürgerkriegen, 1975-2013". Since March 2016 Dr. Michael Fürstenberg has been working at the Max Planck Institute for Ethnological Research in Halle/Saale.

Kontakt M. Fürstenberg - Max Planck Institute for Social Anthropology

Between 2016 and 2018, Dr. Elitza Katzarova was a post-doctoral researcher at the Institute of International Relations. Her research interests at the Institute were in the area of anti-corruption politics, as well as global crime governance. Between 2016 and 2017 she held seminars in the field of European integrationin. Elitza Katzarova received her doctorate from the School of International Studies at the University of Trento (Italy) after completing her B.A. in International and European Relations from the Pantion University in Athens (Greece) and her M.A. in European Studies at the University of Maastricht (Netherlands).

Former Student Assistants

Julius Bussenius (Winterterm 2022/23)

Alissa Römling (Winterterm 2020/21 - Winterterm 2022/23)

Catharina Stieler (Winterterm 2021/22 - Summerterm 2022)

Carlotta Wichmann (Summerterm 2021 - Winterterm 2021/22)

Magnus Bratherig (Winterterm 2020/21 - Winterterm 2021/22)

Pauline Röhr (Summerterm 2019 - Winterterm 2021/22)

Jascha Vonau (Summerterm 2018 - Winterterm 2021/22)

Friederike Ledig (Winterterm 2020/21 - Summerterm 2021)

Vincent Geiss (Summerterm 2019 - Winterterm 2020/21)

Fabian Pleiss (Winterterm 2018/19 - Winterterm 2020/21)

Gesa Himmelstoß (Summerterm 2019 - Winterterm 2020/21)

Katharina Keddig (Summerterm 2020)

Rebecca Erhard (Summerterm 2019 - Winterterm 2019/20)

Anika Bentin (Winterterm 2018/19 - Summerterm 2019)

Lena Herbst (Summerterm 2018 - Summerterm 2019)

Felicitas Pomsel (Winterterm 2018/19 - Summerterm 2019)

Mathilda Wehling (Summerterm 2018 - Winterterm 2018/19)

Vanessa Hirsch (Winterterm 2017/18 - Summerterm 2018)

Arne Martens (Winterterm 2017/18 - Winterterm 2018/19)

Linda Burgholte (Summerterm 2016 - Summerterm 2017)

Anna-Katharina Thiel (Summerterm 2014 - Winterterm 2016/17)

Lisa Lippert (Summerterm 2016)