Prof. Dr. Martin Korte

TU Braunschweig
Zoological Institute
Cellular Neurobiology
Spielmannstr. 7
38106 Braunschweig
Tel.: +49 (0)531 391 3220
Email: m.korte [at] tu-braunschweig.de


1985 - 1990 Study of Biology (Diplom) in Münster and Tübingen
1990 - 1991 Diploma-Thesis at the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Bethesda (Maryland), USA Topic:
“Intermodale kompensatorische Plastizität bei frühblinden Katzen” in the research group of Prof. Dr. Joseph Rauschecker
1992                 Research assistant at the NIH, Bethesda, Maryland, USA
1992 - 1995 PhD Thesis: Retrograde Signaling Systems at hippocampal synapses” (summa cum laude) at the MPI for Brain Reseach, Frankfurt, and at the MPI of Psychiatrie, Munich
1995 Dr. rer. nat. (Neurobiology), Max Planck Institute for Neurobiology (Prof. Dr. T. Bonhoeffer), Munich-Martinsried, Germany
1995 - 1996 Postdoc, MPI for Neurobiology (Prof. Dr. T. Bonhoeffer)
1996 - 1998 Research Group leader at the pharmaceutical company Janssen-Cilag
1998 - 2004 Research Group leader at the MPI for Neurobiology, Martinsried
2001            Habilitation a the LMU München
2004 - 2007 Professor for Animal Physiology (W2) at the Technische Universität Braunschweig
since 2007 Professor for Cellular Neurobiology (W3) at the Technische Universität Braunschweig
since 2007 Director of the Zoological Institute, Technische Universität Braunschweig

Further activities

2003 - 2004   Heisenberg-Stipend of the DFG
2005 - 2010 Academic dean for student affairs (Studiendekan Biologie)
2008 - 2012 Head of the Strategic Committee of the TU Braunschweig
2010 - 2012 Vice President of the TU Braunschweig for Strategic development
2010  - 2015 Coordinator of the Graduate School “grad.life” at the TU Braunschweig
since 2015 Head of the Graduate School “Grad.TUBS” at the TU Braunschweig

Awards and prizes

1984                Winckler-prize of the city Rheine for excellent school performance
1985 - 1991 Stipend of the "Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes"
1996 Karl-Heinz Beckurts-prize for special commitments in teaching, didactics and encouragement of pupils to their own scientific work
2000 Founding member of "The Young Academy" (Berlin - Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften and Leopoldina zu Halle)
10/2002 Heisenberg-Stipend of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG).
since 2013 Elected member to the Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften (BBAW)
since 2014 Member of Braunschweigische Wissenschaftliche Gesellschaft
2014 4th Regional Education Award of the Alliance for the region
2015                  Ars legendi Faculty Award in the category Biology

  last changed 02.05.2018
TU_Icon_E_Mail_1_17x17_RGB pagetop