Prof. Dr. Dieter Jahn

Office: 010 (BRICS)
Tel.: +49 (0) 531-391-55101
Fax: +49 (0) 531-391-55111
email: d.jahn@tu-bs.de


  • 1978-1984
    Studies of Biology, Chemistry and Political Sciences at the Phillips-University Marburg
  • 1984
    Exam/Diploma, Phillips-University Marburg
  • 1984-1987
    Graduation and PhD with Professor Dr. K. H. Seifart in the Institute for Molecular Biology and Tumor Research at Marburg University
    Topics: Transcription factors of RNA polymerase III
  • 1988-1992
    Postdoc in the lab of Prof. Dr. Dieter Soell, Yale University; New Haven, USA (DFG stipend)
    Topics: tRNA-dependent reactions in green algae, yeasts and bacteria, tetrapyrrole biosynthesis
  • 1992-1996
    Junior Researcher at the Max Planck Institute for Terrestrial Microbiology, Marburg
    Topics: Tetrapyrrole biosynthesis, gene regulation in bacteria
  • 1994
    Habilitation in Microbiology at the Phillips-University Marburg, mentor: Prof. Dr. R. K. Thauer
  • 1996-2000
    Associate Professor of Biochemistry in the Institute for Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry of the Albert Ludwig University of Freiburg im Breisgau
    Topics: Structure and function of enzymes of the tetrapyrrole biosynthesis, gene regulation of Bacillus subtilis and Pseudomonas aeruginosa, Vitamin B12-production in Bacillus megaterium
  • Since 2000
    Full Professor of Microbiology at the Institute for Microbiology of the Technischen Universität Carolo-Wilhelmina zu Braunschweig
  • Other science related functions and awards

    • 2016   Elected president of Hamburg University – denied
    • 2012 – 2018  Vice President for Research of Braunschweig University of Technology
    • 2011 - 2016 President/Vice President of the German Microbiological Society (VAAM)
    • 2016 - today member of the Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research Braunschweig scientific advisory board
    • 2016-today Cofounder and member of the steering committee of the DFG Research Training Group (PROCOMPAS)
    • 2013 - today Speaker of the Niedersachsen Collaborative Research Group “CDiff – Epidemiology and systems biology of the bacterial pathogen Clostridium difficile”, now “CDinfect”.
    • 2010 – today Director of the Systems Biology Centre “BRICS”
    • 2010 - today Cofounder and member of the steering committee of the Transregional Collaborative Research Centre TR51 (Roseobacter)
    • 2010 - 2014 Coordinator of the BMBF funded project “Medical infection genomics”
    • 2009 - 2011 Dean of the Faculty of Life Sciences, Braunschweig University
    • 2008-2016 Founder of the DFG Research unit 1220 (PROTRAIN)
    • 2007-2012 Speaker of the DFG Collaborative Research Centre 578 (From Gene to Product)
    • 2006-2012 Member of the Scientific Advisory Board of the Leibniz Institute DSMZ
    • 2006- 2008 Study Dean of Biotechnology Studies
    • 2004-2012 Member of the DFG Study Section 204 (Granting committee), “Microbiology, Virology, Immunology”
    • 1997-2000 Cofounder and Speaker of DFG Research Training Group “Biochemistry of enzymes” (Freiburg University)
  • Research Interests:

    • anaerobic metabolism and regulation in Bacillus subtilis
    • systems biology of Dinorosebacter shibae adaptation to marine habitats
    • biotechnology of the protein production using Bacilllus megaterium
    • biochemistry of heme and chlorophyll biosynthesis

  last changed 09.08.2018
TU_Icon_E_Mail_1_17x17_RGB pagetop