The Institute of Machine Tools and Production Technology (IWF) is jointly headed by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Klaus Dröder and Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christoph Herrmann who hold the Chairs of Manufacturing Technology & Process Automation as well as Sustainable Production & Life Cycle Engineering. Dr.-Ing. Mark Mennenga is responsible for the management, research coordination and strategy of the institute. The chairs are divided into six departments. Within the chair of Prof. Dröder, Dr. Ing. Hans-Werner Hoffmeister is responsible for the department Production Technology. Dr.-Ing. Franz Dietrich is the head of the department Assembly and Procution Automation. Dipl.-Ing. Thomas Große leads the department Manufacturing of Hybrid Components. The Chair of Prof. Herrmann is composed of three departments. Dr.-Ing. Sebastian Thiede is the head of the department Sustainable Manufacturing, Dr. Stefan Böhme leads the department Life Cycle Engineering and Dr.-Ing. Gerrit Posselt is head of The Learning Factory with a focus on energy and resource efficiency in production. Across the departments research topics are allocated to two LabFactories. In the Battery Lab Factory Braunschweig (BLB) the research focus is on traction batteries and E-mobility. Furthermore, the BMBF-Research Campus Open Hybrid LABfactory in Wolfsburg is organized with its central research topic production of hybrid lightweight components in the automotive mass production.

  last changed 04.09.2015
TU_Icon_E_Mail_1_17x17_RGB pagetop