Support Programmes

Support wanted?

If you would like more support in your studies, we offer various programmes and tutorials especially for international students. These programmes help you to improve your German language skills, to make your studies more efficient, to better understand the German university system or to get to know the German culture better. Your tutors are experienced students who will be happy to answer all your questions about studying, the university and life in Germany.

inTU: Tutoring programme for first-term international students

Logo of inTU

Get started! If you are a student at the Faculty of Architecture, Civil Engineering and Environmental Sciences (Faculty 3) or the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering (Faculty 4), you can join a special first year programme for international students. As part of the inTU programme, you will receive support from a student tutor during your first semester. You will attend weekly sessions that will help you get to know the German university system and organise your studies efficiently. You will learn a lot about the German culture, meet other German and international students and have a point of contact for all your questions relating to studying and living in Braunschweig.

More about inTU(German)


SCOUT: Integration and intercultural learning

Working students in front of the old building of the TU Braunschweig

As part of the SCOUT programme, you will receive individual support from a student “scout” over the course of one semester. Together with your tandem partner, you will complete seven different modules including a matching and launch event, regular tandem meetings, intercultural reflection meetings as well as joint leisure activities. Both sides gain something from taking part. As an international student, you will gain real insight into German culture and make contact with German and other international students – and you will even receive credit points for taking part! German students will be able to increase their intercultural competence and of course, will also receive credit points. Above all, however, the exchange is meant to be fun for both sides and make it easier for you to feel at home in Braunschweig.

More about SCOUT


S.o.S.: Studying without language barriers

A group of students sits at a large table with notes and discusses.

S.o.S. stands for “studying without language barriers”. It is a peer teaching programme in which international students get help with their studies from their German classmates, who function as language coaches. Within the S.o.S. programme, you will be working in a group with up to eight other international students. You will review the subject matter from your lecture together, prepare for exams and write term papers. Your language coach will help you to understand the technical language. You will get to know your German and international classmates and will considerably improve your German language skills by discussing your course together.

More information about S.o.S.

S.o.S. is a joint project of the International House, the Institute for Electrical Measurement Science and Fundamental Electrical Engineering and the Institute for Particle Technology.


Contact

If you would like more information about the services or need advice, please contact the International Student Support Team:

Marilena Zitka
+49 531 391 14387
international(at)tu-braunschweig.de

Vanessa Nieberding
+49 531 391 4055 (Mon-Fri 10:00 - 12:00, Mon-Tue 14:00 - 16:00)
international(at)tu-braunschweig.de

Support-Programme

Unterstützung gesucht?

An der TU Braunschweig gibt es verschiedene Programme und Tutorien speziell für internationale Studierende. Sie helfen Ihnen dabei, Ihre Deutschkenntnisse zu verbessern, Ihr Studium effizienter zu gestalten, das deutsche Hochschulsystem besser zu verstehen oder die deutsche Kultur besser kennenzulernen. Ihre Tutorinnen und Tutoren sind erfahrene Studierende, die alle Ihre Fragen zum Studium, zur Universität und zum Leben in Deutschland gerne beantworten.

inTU: Tutorienprogramm für internationale Erstsemester-Studierende

Logo von inTU

Starten Sie durch! Wenn Sie an der Fakultät für Architektur, Bauingenieurwesen und Umweltwissenschaften (Fak. 3) oder der Fakultät für Maschinenbau (Fak. 4) studieren, können Sie an einem speziellen Erstsemesterprogramm für internationale Studierende teilnehmen. Im Rahmen des inTU-Programms werden Sie während des ersten Semesters von studentischen Tutor*innen begleitet. Sie besuchen wöchentliche Treffen, die Ihnen helfen, das deutsche Hochschulsystem kennenzulernen und Ihr Studium effizient zu gestalten. Sie erfahren viel über die deutsche Kultur, lernen andere deutsche und internationale Studierende kennen und haben eine Ansprechperson für alle Fragen rund um das Studium und Leben in Braunschweig.

Mehr Informationen zu inTU


SCOUT: Integration und interkulturelles Lernen

Arbeitende Studierende vor dem Altgebäude der TU Braunschweig

Im Rahmen des SCOUT-Programms erhalten Sie während eines Semesters individuelle Betreuung durch einen studentischen „Scout“. Zusammen mit Ihrem*Ihrer Tandempartner*in absolvieren Sie sieben unterschiedliche Module. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel das Matching und eine Auftaktveranstaltung, regelmäßige Tandemtreffen, interkulturelle Reflexionstreffen und gemeinsame Freizeitunternehmungen. Vom Mitmachen profitieren beide Seiten: Als internationale*r Studierende*r erhalten Sie einen guten Einblick in die deutsche Kultur und knüpfen Kontakte zu deutschen und anderen internationalen Studierenden – außerdem gibt es fürs Mitmachen Credit Points. Deutsche  Studierende können ihre interkulturelle Kompetenz verbessern und erhalten natürlich ebenfalls Credit Points. Vor allem aber soll der Austausch beiden Seiten Spaß machen und dazu beitragen, dass Sie sich in Braunschweig schneller zu Hause fühlen.

Mehr Informationen zum SCOUT-Programm


S.o.S.: Studieren ohne Sprachbarrieren

Eine Gruppe von Studierenden sitzt mit Notizen an einem großen Tisch und diskutiert.

S.o.S. steht für „Studieren ohne Sprachbarrieren". Es ist ein Peer-Teaching Programm, bei dem deutschsprachige Studierende ihre internationalen Kommilitonen beim Lernen für eine bestimmte Lehrveranstaltung unterstützen. Im Rahmen des S.o.S.-Programms lernen Sie in einer Gruppe mit bis zu acht weiteren internationalen Studierenden. Sie bearbeiten die Inhalte Ihrer Lehrveranstaltung, bereiten sich gemeinsam auf Prüfungen vor oder helfen sich beim Schreiben von Projektarbeiten. Wenn Sie Schwierigkeiten haben, die deutsche Fachsprache zu verstehen, können sie das direkt mit Ihrem Sprachcoach besprechen. Sie knüpfen Kontakte zu Ihren deutschen und internationalen Kommiliton*innen und verbessern Ihre Deutschkenntnisse beim gemeinsamen Lernen und Besprechen der Lerninhalte.

Mehr Informationen zu Studieren ohne Sprachbarrieren 

S.o.S. ist ein Kooperationsprojekt des International House, des Instituts für elektrische Messtechnik und Grundlagen der Elektrotechnik und des Instituts für Partikeltechnik.