Campus Life

Discover our campus

Of course, studying in Braunschweig does not only take place in the lecture hall: In your free time, you can get involved in one of the numerous student initiatives, get active in university sports, party at the TU Night or help shape the campus according to your ideas.

Get involved!

Whether on stage, in workshops or in cockpits: 84 study programmes at our university naturally also contribute to the diversity and interdisciplinarity of everything that happens outside the lecture hall. As a student at TU Braunschweig, you have the opportunity to get involved wherever you want – either related to your subject or completely independent of it. Maybe you feel like developing self-driving model cars or you want to get involved in environmental protection? Or would you like to get to know the student cinema team or support the TU orchestra in its performances? There are almost no limits to where you can get involved. An overview of all student initiatives and associations at the TU Braunschweig can be found here:

All student initiatives and associations

Make new friends!

Our nearly 90 student associations, the university sports programme, and our campus festivals give you the opportunity to make new contacts and get to know fellow students from other study programmes.

Students on campus

FitBox

After a long day of studying a good workout helps to clear your mind. In the FitBox - our fitness area on campus - you can do cardiovascular and muscle training on your own in a pleasant and relaxed atmosphere. Certified fitness trainers will be happy to provide tips and training instructions at any time. Click here for more information about the FitBox.

Stay active!

TU Braunschweig Sports Center offers you a diverse and affordable range of sports, health and leisure activities. You can choose the right offer from a wide range of courses: Whether boxing, meditation, gliding, yoga, African Modern Dance or Quidditch (yes - even Muggles can play Quidditch!) - why not try out a new sport? But pay attention: Some courses are very popular, so it's best to sign up as soon as possible after registration starts.

See sports programme

On the Finn track you can do your running laps on a perfect underground. In the dark season the track is well lit.
When the weather is nice, it's best to work out outside: our outdoor fitness park offers you a wide range of training equipment.

Events on Campus

At TU Braunschweig there are a variety of different events that are open to you as a student and to anyone who is interested - perfect for broadening your own horizons or discovering the campus from a different perspective together with your fellow students.

TU-Night 2021: Lost Places

In 2021, the TU Night took place as a digital event for the first time due to the Corona pandemic. It featured a video series of science, art and music. Scientists gave insights into their research at TU Braunschweig from different perspectives. The topics of future viability and sustainability were particularly in focus. Here you can experience the TU Night 2021 in retrospect.

At the University Sports Festival, for example, you can get to know the wide range of activities offered by the TU Sports Centre and at "Profs at Turntables" our professors play music for a good cause in the clubs of Braunschweig. You can also broaden your horizons at lecture series, listen to the sounds of the orchestra or the university choir at musical performances, talk to experts from various departments and much more. You can find all events related to TU Braunschweig here:

See all events


The Campus lives from your ideas

Whether in shaping the campus, active participation in committees and commissions or support for international students: in Braunschweig you will find freedom for active participation – and both the university and the campus need you as a student.

A few semesters ago, students started using the “Sandkasten” (sandbox) project to implement smaller on-campus design projects - such as pallet benches on the university plaza or a bicycle repair station directly on campus. Sandkasten contributes significantly to campus life with its projects.

More about "Sandkasten"

Two people working on a wooden couch with a drill.
A woman takes a photo of a man next to a bench made of Euro pallets in the Forum Square

Your engagement counts!

You can also play an active role in the development of our university by participating in a number of committees and commissions. The largest of those is the AStA (Allgemeiner Studierendenausschuss), the General Student Committee. The AStA is the official representation of our student body towards the university and politicians. If you want to get involved in your own area of study and help shape the future of your study programme, it is also worthwhile to participate in the relevant student councils.


Contact

If you would like more information about the services or need advice, please contact the International Student Support Team:

Marilena Zitka
+49 531 391 14387
international(at)tu-braunschweig.de

Vanessa Nieberding
+49 531 391 4055 (Mon-Fri 10:00 - 12:00, Mon-Tue 14:00 - 16:00)
international(at)tu-braunschweig.de

Campusleben

Den Campus entdecken

Das Studium in Braunschweig spielt sich natürlich nicht nur im Hörsaal ab: In Ihrer Freizeit können Sie sich in einer der zahlreichen studentischen Initiativen engagieren, im Uni-Sport aktiv werden, auf der TU-Night feiern oder den Campus nach Ihren Vorstellungen mitgestalten.

Studentisches Engagement

Ob auf der Bühne, in der Werkstatt oder im Cockpit: Die 84 Studiengänge unserer Universität tragen natürlich auch zur Vielfalt und Interdisziplinarität all dessen bei, was außerhalb des Hörsaals passiert. Als Studierende der TU Braunschweig haben Sie die Möglichkeit, sich dort einzubringen, wo Sie möchten – entweder mit Bezug zu Ihrem Studienfach oder völlig unabhängig davon. Vielleicht haben Sie Lust, selbstfahrende Modellautos zu entwickeln oder Sie möchten sich für den Umweltschutz einsetzen? Vielleicht möchten Sie aber auch das studentische Kinoteam kennenlernen oder das TU-Orchester bei seinen Auftritten unterstützen? Ihrem Engagement sind fast keine Grenzen gesetzt. Eine Übersicht über alle studentischen Initiativen und Vereine an der TU Braunschweig finden Sie hier:

Studentische Initiativen und Vereine

Knüpfen Sie Kontakte!

Ob in den knapp 90 studentischen Vereinigungen, beim Uni-Sport oder auf unseren Campus-Festivals: Nutzen Sie die Chance, um neue Kontakte zu knüpfen und Kommiliton*innen aus anderen Studiengängen kennenzulernen.

Studierende auf dem Campus

FitBox

Vom Hörsaal direkt an die Geräte! Im Fitnessbereich in der TU-Sporthalle können Sie in angenehmer und lockerer Atmosphäre selbstständig Herz-Kreislauf- sowie Muskeltraining durchführen. Zertifizierte Fitness-Trainer*innen geben dabei jederzeit gern Tipps und Trainingsanleitungen. Hier geht es zur FitBox.

Aktiv bleiben durch Uni-Sport

Das Sportzentrum der TU Braunschweig bietet Ihnen ein vielfältiges und kostengünstiges Sport-, Gesundheits- und Freizeitangebot. Sie können aus einem breiten Kursprogramm das passende Angebot wählen: Ob Boxen, Meditieren, Segelfliegen, Yoga, African Modern Dance oder Quidditch (ja - auch Muggel können Quidditch spielen!) – probieren Sie doch mal eine neue Sportart aus. Aber Achtung: Einige Kurse sind sehr beliebt, deshalb müssen Sie sich am besten so schnell wie möglich nach Anmeldestart anmelden.

Zum Sportprogramm

Auf der Finnbahn können Sie auf perfektem Untergrund Ihre Laufrunden drehen. In der dunklen Jahreszeit ist die Strecke beleuchtet.
Bei schönem Wetter trainiert es sich draußen doch am Besten: Der Outdoor-Fitnesspark des Sportzentrums bietet Ihnen eine große Auswahl an Trainingsgeräten.

Veranstaltungen auf dem Campus

An der TU Braunschweig gibt es eine Vielzahl von unterschiedlichen Veranstaltungen, die für Sie als Studierende und für alle Interessierten zugänglich sind – perfekt um den eigenen Horizont zu erweitern oder gemeinsam mit den Komiliton*innen den Campus aus einer anderen Perspektive zu entdecken.

TU-Night 2021: Lost Places

Im Jahr 2021 fand die TU-Night wegen der Corona-Pandemie erstmals als digitales Event in einer Videoserie aus Wissenschaft, Kunst und Musik statt. Aus verschiedenen Perspektiven gaben Wissenschaftler*innen Einblicke in ihre Forschung an der TU Braunschweig. Die Themen Zukunftsfähigkeit und Nachhaltigkeit standen dabei besonders im Fokus. Hier können Sie die TU-Night 2021 im Rückblick erleben.

Beim Uni-Sportfest etwa können Sie das große Angebot des TU-Sportzentrums kennenlernen und bei „Profs at Turntables“ legen unsere Professor*innen für einen guten Zweck in Braunschweiger Clubs auf. Darüber hinaus können Sie bei Ringvorlesungen Ihren Horizont erweitern, bei musikalischen Auftritten den Klängen des Orchesters oder des Uni-Chors lauschen, bei Talk-Runden in den Austausch mit Experten und Expertinnen verschiedener Fachbereiche gehen und vieles mehr. Alle Veranstaltungen mit Bezug zur TU Braunschweig finden Sie hier:

Zum Veranstaltungskalender


Der Campus lebt von Ihren Ideen

Ob bei der Campusgestaltung, der aktiven Mitbestimmung in Gremien und Kommissionen oder der Unterstützung internationaler Studierender: In Braunschweig haben Sie Raum zur aktiven Mitgestaltung – und sowohl die Universität als auch der Campus brauchen Sie als Studierende.

Mit dem Sandkasten haben Studierende vor einigen Semestern angefangen, kleinere Gestaltungsprojekte auf dem Campus umzusetzen – zum Beispiel Palettenbänke auf dem Universitätsplatz oder eine Fahrradreparaturstation direkt auf dem Campus. Der Sandkasten trägt mit seinen Projekten entscheidend zum Campusleben bei.

Ihr Engagement zählt!

Sich aktiv in die Entwicklung unserer Universität einzubringen, ist auch in vielen Gremien und Kommissionen möglich. Ein besonders wichtiges Gremium ist der AStA, der Allgemeine Studierendenausschuss. Der AStA ist die offizielle Vertretung unserer Studierendenschaft gegenüber Hochschule und Politik. Um sich im eigenen Studienfach einzubringen und dessen Zukunft mitzugestalten, lohnt sich auch das Engagement in den entsprechenden Fachgruppen.

Eine Frau fotografiert auf dem Forumsplatz einen Mann neben einer Bank aus Europaletten.
Zwei Personen arbeiten mit einer Bohrmaschine an einer Liege aus Holz.