Application & Visa

We’re here for you!

The application process at a foreign university and the application for a visa involve some challenges for international students. We are happy to support you to overcome these hurdles so that you can soon start with your studies at TU Braunschweig.

Applying at TU Braunschweig

Most Bachelor's programmes begin once a year in the winter semester. Application for the summer semester is possible for pharmacy, some Bachelor's programmes, most of our Master's programmes and for higher semesters. The international Master's programmes CSE und Data Science have separate application deadlines.

On the following websites you will find all important information about the application process. Please select whether you would like to complete a full degree programme (degree-seeking) at TU Braunschweig or whether you are coming to TU Braunschweig as an exchange student for one or two semesters.

Please note that the application procedures differ!

Application as degree-seeking student

Application as exchange student

Programmes

At TU Braunschweig you can choose your favourite subject from 84 Bachelor's and Master's programmes. These also include degree programmes that are offered in English or bilingually. You can find an overview of all degree programmes and detailed descriptions here.

Englisch courses

At TU Braunschweig you will find a wide range of courses taught in English. You can find an overview here.

Guidance in the Study Service Center

Degree-seeking students

Further information on visa requirements and proof of funding for degree-seeking students can be found here.

Exchange students

Further information on visa requirements and proof of funding for exchange students can be found here.

Apply for a visa

Depending on your home country, you need to have a visa to study in Germany. You should apply for the visa for study purposes at the German embassy or consulate at least three months before your departure to Germany. For the visa application you will need your admission to TU Braunschweig and your proof of funding. Detailed information on visa and travel regulations is provided by the DAAD and the Federal Foreign Office.

Do not enter Germany with a tourist visa, as this will not allow you to enrol!

You can find an overview of visa regulations for entry into the Federal Republic of Germany for all countries on the following website:

Overview visa requirement


Enrolment at TU Braunschweig

After you have taken out your health insurance, you can enrol at TU Braunschweig. You have received detailed information on enrolment with your letter of acceptance. Here we have informed you of

  • the period in which you must enrol,
  • which documents must be submitted for enrolment,
  • the amount of the semester contribution you have to pay.

After you have enrolled, you will receive your temporary student identity card, which can be used as a semester ticket from the beginning of the semester. You will also receive a temporary enrolment certificate.

 

Searching for information in the Study Service Center

Renewal of enrolment

Registering at the university is only the first step. You need to renew your enrolment each semester to be able to continue your studies. To do so, you will need to pay the semester contribution for the coming term.

Semester contribution

The semester contribution for the 2021/22 winter semester covers the following:

EUR 108.00 Student Support Services contribution
EUR 208.51 student body contribution (including the Semester Ticket)
EUR 75.00 contribution to administrative costs
= EUR 391.51 semester contribution


Renewal of residence permit

Your residence permit for study purposes is always issued for a limited period and must then be extended. For this purpose, your officer from the Immigration Office will send you an e-mail about 8 weeks before your residence permit expires containing a date for applying for the extension. If you do not receive an invitation, you should contact your immigration officer yourself, if possible also by e-mail. In the e-mail from the Foreigners' Registration Office you will find a list of all documents which are necessary for the renewal of your residence permit. Please compile the documents in good time and bring them with you to your appointment.

Registration with the City of Braunschweig and the Foreigners Authority

For your stay in Braunschweig you have to register with the city of Braunschweig and possibly apply for a residence permit. We recommend you going to the appointments at the registration and immigration office together with your buddy.

Bewerbung & Visum

Wir helfen Ihnen!

Der Bewerbungsprozess an einer Universität im Ausland und die Beantragung eines Visums bringen für internationale Studierende oft einige Herausforderungen mit sich. Mit unserer Unterstützung überwinden Sie diese Hürden problemlos und Ihrem Studienstart an der TU Braunschweig steht nichts mehr im Wege.

Bewerben an der TU Braunschweig

Die meisten Bachelorstudiengänge an der TU Braunschweig beginnen einmal im Jahr zum Wintersemester. Zum Sommersemester können Sie sich für Pharmazie, einige Bachelor-, die meisten unserer Masterstudiengänge und für höhere Fachsemester bewerben. Die internationalen Masterprogramme CSE und Data Science haben gesonderte Bewerbungstermine.

Auf den folgenden Webseiten finden Sie alle wichtigen Informationen zum Bewerbungsprozess. Bitte wählen Sie aus, ob Sie ein vollständiges Studium mit Abschluss (Degree-Seeking) an der TU Braunschweig absolvieren möchten oder ob Sie als Austauschstudierende*r für ein oder zwei Semester an die TU Braunschweig kommen.

Bitte beachten Sie, dass sich die Bewerbungsverfahren unterscheiden!

Bewerbung als Degree-Seeking-Studierende*r

Bewerbung als Austauschstudierende*r

 

Studienangebot

An der TU Braunschweig können Sie aus 84 Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen Ihre passende Fachrichtung wählen. Darunter sind auch Studiengänge, die auf Englisch oder bilingual angeboten werden. Eine Übersicht über alle Studiengänge und detaillierte Beschreibungen finden Sie hier.

Englische Lehrveranstaltungen

An der TU Braunschweig finden Sie ein großes Angebot an englischsprachigen Lehrveranstaltungen. Eine Übersicht finden Sie hier.

Beratung im Studienservice-Center

Degree-Seeking-Studierende

Weitere Information zur Visumspflicht und zum Finanzierungsnachweis für Degree-Seeking-Studierende finden Sie hier.

Austauschstudierende

Weitere Informationen zur Visumspflicht und zum Finanzierungsnachweis für Austauschstudierende finden Sie hier.

Ein Visum beantragen

Wenn Sie aus einem visumspflichtigen Land kommen, müssen Sie spätestens drei Monate vor der Abreise nach Deutschland ein Visum zu Studienzwecken bei der deutschen Botschaft oder beim Konsulat in Ihrem Heimatland beantragen. Sie brauchen dafür Ihre Zulassung an der TU Braunschweig und Ihren Finanzierungsnachweis. Mehr Informationen zu den Einreisebestimmungen finden Sie beim DAAD und beim Auswärtigen Amt.

Reisen Sie nicht mit einem Touristenvisum ein. Die Immatrikulation mit einem Touristenvisum ist nicht möglich!

Eine Länderübersicht zur Visumpflicht bzw. -freiheit bei Einreise in die Bundesrepublik Deutschland finden Sie hier:

Übersicht Visumspflicht


Immatrikulation an der TU Braunschweig

Nachdem Sie Ihre Krankenversicherung abgeschlossen haben, können Sie sich immatrikulieren. Genaue Informationen zur Immatrikulation haben Sie mit Ihrem Zulassungsbescheid erhalten. Hier haben wir Ihnen mitgeteilt:

  • in welchem Zeitraum Sie sich immatrikulieren müssen,
  • welche Unterlagen für die Immatrikulation eingereicht werden müssen,
  • welchen Semesterbeitrag Sie überweisen müssen.

Nach der Immatrikulation erhalten Sie Ihren vorläufigen Studierendenausweis, den Sie ab Semesterbeginn als Semesterticket nutzen können. Sie erhalten auch eine vorläufige Immatrikulationsbescheinigung.

 

Auf Informationssuche im Studienservice-Center

Rückmeldung

Das Einschreiben an der Universität ist nur der erste Schritt - immatrikulierte Studierende müssen sich jedes Semester rückmelden, um auch im nächsten Semester weiter zu studieren. Die Rückmeldung erfolgt, indem Sie die entsprechenden Beiträge und Gebühren für das nächste Semester überweisen.

Semesterbeitrag

Der Semesterbeitrag für das Wintersemester 2021/22 setzt sich aus folgenden Einzelbeträgen zusammen:

108,00 Euro Studentenwerksbeitrag
208,51 Euro Studierendenschaftsbeitrag (einschließlich Semesterticket)
75,00 Euro Verwaltungskostenbeitrag
= 391,51 Euro Semesterbeitrag


Aufenthaltserlaubnis verlängern

Ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis zu Studienzwecken ist immer für einen befristeten Zeitraum ausgestellt und muss dann verlängert werden. Dazu schickt Ihnen Ihr*e Sachbearbeiter*in von der Ausländerbehörde etwa 8 Wochen vor Ablauf Ihrer Aufenthaltserlaubnis per E-Mail einen Termin für die Beantragung der Verlängerung zu. Falls Sie keine Einladung erhalten, nehmen Sie selbst Kontakt zur Ausländerbehörde auf, am besten ebenfalls per E-Mail. In der E-Mail der Ausländerbehörde finden Sie eine Liste mit allen Dokumenten, die Sie für die Verlängerung Ihrer Aufenthaltserlaubnis brauchen. Bitte stellen Sie die Unterlagen rechtzeitig zusammen und bringen Sie sie zu Ihrem Termin mit.

Meldebescheinigung & Aufenthaltserlaubnis beantragen

Für Ihren Aufenthalt in Braunschweig müssen Sie sich bei der Stadt Braunschweig anmelden und unter Umständen eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis beantragen. Wir empfehlen Ihnen, zu den Terminen bei der Melde- und Ausländerbehörde gemeinsam mit Ihrem Buddy zu gehen.