Anzhi Wang

Anzhi Wang, M.Sc.

Beethovenstraße 51

38106 Braunschweig

Telephone: 0531/391-3335

Research project:

Residual life prediction of steel components under high-cycle fatigue based on full-field measurement

Bridges, both steel and concrete, can fail due to ageing. In Germany, about 40% of the trunk road bridges were built between 1965 and 1979. Only a few of these bridges have been designed with ageing at that time. Ageing can be triggered mechanically, chemically, biologically, and under there interaction. Among all, mechanical ageing plays an important role though the whole aging procedure.

Mechanical ageing involves mainly the fatigue, which is basically divided into Low-Cycle-Fatigue (LCF) and High-Cycle-Fatigue (HCF), depending on the number of load cycles at failure. Despite the LCF due to e.g. strong wind load, bridges are mainly affected in the service condition under HCF, whereby the structural component is cracked in macro scale without any prior notice.

The evaluation of the change of state of the component can be done by different methods based on Wöhler line, by which cyclic tests are carried out for one specific construction detail. The relationship between the (nominal) stress difference and number of load cycles represents the fatigue behaviour mathematically through the so-called S-N curve. With an appropriate model for loads and damage accumulation, a life prediction is possible.

However, these methods are not suitable for condition assessment and life prediction of components under HCF on existing structures. Firstly, HCF is a highly localized phenomenon. with the Wöhler test showing a considerable scattering. Secondly, only strains can be measured on site, e.g. with strain gauges. Without knowledge of the material parameters, which can change as a result of fatigue, no stresses can be resulted. Finally, the stress history of a structure cannot be determined. The pre-damage is therefore unknown.

With plane strain measurement, local information can be obtained on the component surface where fatigue usually occurs. ESPI (Electronic Spekle Pattern Interferometry) and DIC (Digital Image Correlation) are available for this purpose. The ESPI system is used here because it is considered to be suitable for detecting material changes due to fatigue due to its high sensitivity to the smallest deformations.

The Virtual Field Method (VFM) is used to solve the inverse problem. This is an inverse method with which the material parameters can be derived with known component geometry, load, constitutive equation and measured strain field. The material model can be linear or non-linear, homogeneous or heterogeneous, and isotropic or anisotropic. The applied virtual (strain) fields are decisive for the solution of the inverse problem. An appropriate selection of the virtual fields can minimize the white-noise in the measurement and reduce the calculation effort significantly.

The aim of the research project is to develop a phenomenological model for steel components to describe the material change or the change of the strain field due to HCF. The model results basically from the measured strain fields up to the first crack. The model should be able to describe the crack initiation phase. The following crack growth can be represented by fracture mechanical methods. The mathematical representation of the phenomenological model should have a global elasticity and maintain the energy balance. The lifetime of a component can be predicted with the model and the surface strain data measured on site.

Additional literature:

K. Ritter and K. Thiele. Zur frühen Detektion von Ermüdungsrissen mithilfe der Speckle-Interferometrie. Tagungsband des 21. DASt-Forschungskolloquium, 2018.

K. Ritter and K. Thiele. Monitoring Micro-damage Evolution in Structural Steel S355 using Speckle Interferometry. Proceedings of the 7th International Conference on Fracture Fatigue and Wear, Ghent, Springer Verlag, 2018.

Anzhi Wang

Anzhi Wang, M.Sc.

Beethovenstraße 51

38106 Braunschweig

Telefon: 0531/391-3335

Forschungsvorhaben:

Lebensdauervorhersage von Stahlbauteilen unter High-Cycle-Fatigue mit Hilfe von flächiger Dehnungsmessung

Brücken, sowohl aus Stahl wie auch aus Beton, können aufgrund der Alterung versagen. Bundesweit sind ca. 40% der Fernstraßenbrücken zwischen 1965 und 1979 gebaut. Nur zu wenigen davon wurde die Alterung in der Planung berücksichtigt. Zu mechanischer Alterung zählt Ermüdung, die grundsätzlich je nach Zyklus beim Bruch in Low-Cycle-Fatigue (LCF) und High-Cycle-Fatigue (HCF) eingeteilt wird. Trotz der LCF infolge z.B. starker Windlast, werden Brücken vor allem im Gebrauchszustand unter HCF beansprucht, wobei das Bauteil in Makroskala ohne Vorankündigung angerissen wird.

Die Bewertung der Zustandsänderung des Bauteils kann anhand verschiedener auf Wöhlerlinie basierender Methoden erfolgen. Dabei werden für ein Konstruktionsdetail zyklische Versuche durchgeführt. Die Beziehung zwischen der (Nenn-)Spannungsdifferenz und Lastspielzahl stellt das Ermüdungsverhalten mathematisch dar (S-N-Kurve). Mit einem angemessenen Modell für Belastungen und Schädigungsakkumulation ist eine Lebensvorhersage möglich.

Diese Methoden sind jedoch für die Zustandsbewertung und Lebensdauervorhersage der Bauteile unter HCF an bestehenden Bauwerken nicht geeignet. Erstens ist HCF ein stark lokalisiertes Phänomen, dass der Wöhlerversuch dabei eine erhebliche Streuung aufweist. Zweitens kann vor Ort nur Dehnungen gemessen werden, z.B. mit DMS. Ohne Kenntnisse der Materialparameter, die infolge Ermüdung sich verändern können, können keine Spannungen resultiert werden. Letztens ist die Spannungsgeschichte eines Bauwerks nicht erfassbar. Die Vorschädigung ist daher unbekannt.

Mit flächiger Dehnungsmessung können lokale Informationen am Bauteiloberfläche, wo die Ermüdung in der Regel auftritt, erhalten werden. Hierzu stehen unter anderem ESPI (Elektronic Spekle Pattern Interferometry) und DIC (Digital Image Correlation) zur Verfügung. Da das ESPI-System aufgrund der hohen Sensibilität gegenüber kleinsten Verformungen als geeignet betrachtet wird, mit dem die Materialveränderung infolge Ermüdung erkannt werden kann, ist es hierbei eingesetzt.

Zur Lösung des Inversenproblems wird die Virtual Field Method (VFM) angewendet. Dabei handelt es sich um eine Inversenmethode, mit der die Materialparameter mit bekannter Bauteilgeometrie, Belastung, konstitutiven Gleichung und gemessenem Dehnungsfeld hergeleitet werden können. Dabei kann das Materialmodell linear oder nichtlinear, homogen oder heterogen und isotrop oder anisotrop angesetzt werden. Die angesetzten virtuellen (Dehnungs-)Felder sind zur Lösung des Inversenproblems entscheidend. Eine zweckmäßige Auswahl der virtuellen Felder kann das white-noise in der Messung minimieren und den Rechenaufwand deutlich reduzieren.

Ziel des Forschungsvorhabens ist für Stahlbauteile ein phänomenologisches Modell zur Beschreibung der Materialveränderung bzw. der Veränderung des Dehnungsfeldes infolge HCF zu entwickeln. Das Modell resultiert sich grundsätzlich aus den gemessenen Dehnungsfelder bis zum ersten Anriss. Mit dem Modell soll die Risseinleitungsphase beschrieben werden können. Das folgende Risswachstum lassen sich mit bruchmechanischen Methoden darstellen. Die mathematische Darstellung des phänomenologischen Modells soll eine globale Elastizität aufweisen und die Energiebilanz einhalten. Die Lebensdauer eines Bauteils kann mit dem Modell und den vor Ort gemessenen flächigen Dehnungsdaten vorhergesagt werden.

weiterführende Literatur:

K. Ritter and K. Thiele. Zur frühen Detektion von Ermüdungsrissen mithilfe der Speckle-Interferometrie. Tagungsband des 21. DASt-Forschungskolloquium, 2018.

K. Ritter and K. Thiele. Monitoring Micro-damage Evolution in Structural Steel S355 using Speckle Interferometry. Proceedings of the 7th International Conference on Fracture Fatigue and Wear, Ghent, Springer Verlag, 2018.