Governance Board

Das Präsidium der TU Braunschweig

The Governance Board

The Governance Board leads the university as a collegial body. In addition to the president and a full-time vice president, four other part-time vice presidents are members of this body. It is responsible for the further development of our university and central affairs. The tasks of the Governance Board are defined in § 37 para. 1 of the Lower Saxony Higher Education Act (Niedersächsisches Hochschulgesetz - NHG).

The President

The President represents the university externally, chairs the Governance Board and sets the guidelines for the Governance Board. The President is appointed or nominated by the Senate.

The full-time Vice President

In addition to the President, the Governance Board includes a full-time Vice President. He is responsible for managing the university administration with its departments of human resources, legal and academic affairs, finance, and facilities management - including building ownership - and is also the budget officer.

  • Vice President for Human Resources, Finance and Infrastructure (HVP)
    Dietmar Smyrek

The Vice Presidents

In addition, there are four part-time vice president positions whose two-year terms are governed by the Basic Regulations of the Technische Universität Braunschweig. The vice presidents are responsible for the following departments:

Commissioners of the Governance Board

President's Office

The central coordination unit of the Governance Board


The following staff positions have been set up and are organizationally assigned to the Governance Board: