The symposium addresses topics in bilingual child, adult, and heritage speaker grammatical processing, including but not limited to:

  • lexical, morphological and syntactic processing;
  • crosslinguistic influence in bilingual speech production and comprehension;
  • code-switching
  • cognitive consequences of multilingualism;
  • language processing in attrition;
  • implications of multilingual language processing for teaching.

ISBPACTU will bring together researchers from different disciplines (e.g.,  linguistics, psychology, cognitive sciences, neuroscience and language pedagogy) who investigate bilingual and L2 processing.


Keynote Speakers

Vicky Chondrogianni (University of Edinburgh)

Ian Cunnings (University of Reading)

Janet van Hell (Pennsylvania State University)


Pre-conference workshop

We are hosting a workshop on eye-tracking in bilingual and L2 processing, led by Theres Grüter (University of Hawaii), during the afternoon of Wednesday, 23rd May 2018


Call for Papers

Abstract submission is now closed.


We are looking forward to welcoming you in Braunschweig in May!


Important Dates

Conference: Thursday, 24th May 2018 - Friday, 25th May 2018

Pre-Conference Workshop:  Wednesday, 23rd May 2018

Abstract Submission: 15th November 2017 - 15th January 2018

Notification of Acceptance: Beginning of March 2018

Registration: 1st March 2018 - 15th May 2018

Early Bird Registration: 1st March 2018 - 10th April 2018


Registration is now closed.

Check out the updated programme here.

You can now download a pdf version of the booklet.


Alla Abrosimova
Henrike Comes-Koch
Ivana Cvekić
Claudia Flohr
Vera Heyer
Holger Hopp
Duygu Şafak
Erika Wolf


For any queries, please contact us at:


  aktualisiert am 16.02.2018
TU_Icon_E_Mail_1_17x17_RGB Zum Seitenanfang